We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fisherbeck
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$147
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
429
120
31
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
429
120
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomspa bathwoodside cottageporridgeb bsmoked haddocklake districtboiled eggshotel is spotlessly cleanbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentbreakfast stafffantastic breakcar parkshort walklovely loungeleave your car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We cannot sing the praises of this excellent establishment enough. The bedroom was a good size, with plenty of room even with a king size bed. The en-suite bathroom was immaculate and had a spa bath, just the thing to relax in after a day's walking. The view of the fells from the window was breathtaking and there is plenty of car parking space for all the guests. The standard of care and attention is extremely high and the staff are courteous, helpful and very well trained. The choice of menu for breakfast has to be seen to be believed. Snacks and drinks are also available throughout the day. Nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ring reception and ask about the choice of rooms and any special offers that may be available.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review and we are just pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do think there is something to be said for feeling that you are being looked after when you are away from home and if that is what we managed to do then we are getting a good bit of our job right.

Thank you again, and for your lovely comments about breakfast. We do hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back if you are planning a future trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This has been our second stay (4 nights) at the Fisherbeck and on both occasions we chose a Garden Room ( no. 14) originally on good reviews and lately on our own experience!
This is a good sized warm, comfortable room with a modern stylish bathroom.It also boasts a sitting out area which was fine last May but not to be recommended when it snows!
The owners,Raymond and Gillian, are friendly and approachable and Raymond's attention to detail is notable.Breakfast is full waitress service from a substantial menu and it is excellent.

Generally the hotel appears to us to be well run, spotlessly clean with efficient staff in the dining room and there has not been much to find fault with. We fully expect to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSVance_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and yes, this March was not entirely the best time to make use of the outside seating that the Garden Rooms provide. It seemed as though winter lasted for an eternity this year.

However, spring finally seems to have sprung and just this week Raymond and friend Tim got out the tool kits and we replaced all the Garden Room outside furniture so it looks pretty posh.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay on the way from Scotland to London. We booked at the last minute through Laterooms and so glad we found this place. The hotel was perfectly situated a five minute stroll into Ambleside. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and very accommodating staff on hand to meet your every need. The breakfast was amazing, really good quality food and lots of it. We had a young baby with us and when we arrived for breakfast we found the table set with his high hair already in place, instead of the usual scramble to find a high chair and move chairs away to accomodate the high chair. This small attention to detail demonstrates the level of customer service at this hotel. I didn't find breakfast regimented, just well run and staff eager to ensure breakfast was an enjoyable experience. I will definitely be back. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curve1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and I have to agree that there is nothing worse for parents with young children having to sort out seating arrangements for breakfast. I always think it allows both the guest and our staff to concentrate on the"food bit" if the highchair is already waiting.

I'm just glad we got it right and that you enjoyed your stop over with us.

Thank you again and hope you might return to us again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Fisherbeck to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary

We had no complaints about the running and particularly the cleanlliness of the hotel

We had a large west facing room with balcony and lovely views.

As commented by a previous reviewer, the breakfast was served in quite a regimentated way but the food was always hot and plentiful.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a spa bath and walk in shower. Anybody who has problems with stairs, like myself, difficult but that is no detriment to the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mw286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Arrived at the Fisherbeck for a two day break. Accommodation was very good having paid for an upgraded room. Breakfast on day one was very strange. The clinical service by three foreign sounding women only added to the very strange atmosphere. You were constantly being watched by one or other of the waitresses, who seemed to take great delight in removing your plate the second that you had finished. As for the owner, he obviously had a military background and was making sure everything ran smoothly. Breakfast on day two was even stranger. After being shown to a table and sat down, we were told that we were at the wrong table. Upon my protestation at wanting to sit at this table, the waitress seemed VERY upset and insisted that we move to another table. Poor customer handling skills.I have never felt more uneasy whilst eating ever before. On a plus note, the food was okay. Overall, we liked the place, but we will never return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atillathegillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews