We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just spent a lovely three nights in this very pleasant hotel & can't fault anything from the setting to the fab rooms along with the very tasty breakfast & the attention to detail from the waitresses.
We felt very comfortable & relaxed from the moment we arrived & will definitely go back for another visit when we are in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review and we are more than pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend break with us. No doubt the fabulous weather that we have enjoyed recently was a part of the overall enjoyment.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.

All the very best

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    105
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
340
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel was chosen because I insist on a bath to ease the aching legs after a day on the fells. Good choice, the spa bath was a delight! I also slept like a log in the super comfy beds. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. Hospitality in this hotel is excellent and that counts for a lot. Given the opportunity we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyB242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we are just so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I absolutely agree that there is nothing better than a bath at the end of a days walking, and the spa just adds that little touch of luxury.

Rachel our manager, Raymond & myself between us cook breakfast every morning so we appreciate your comments very much. But we couldn't do it without our wonderful team of young ladies who look after everybody in the dining room.

Thank you again and we do hope you will think of us again if you plan a return trip to the Lake District.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I satyed at the Fisherbeck for two nights. The room was lovely and modern and clan, but at the back of the hotel on the second floor. As a result the room was quite small (the tiniest ensuite) with no view and very poor wifi, although we did get good wifi downstairs in the communal areas. The gap under the door was a good inch, meaning there was a lot of noise from the corridor outside - not that it was noisy as such, but I did feel that anyone outside could hear EVERY word we said in the room! The bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was delicious, and all of the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Location wise, the Fisherbeck is perfect - a five minute walk into town, and five minutes to the lake. In general, Ambleside is the perfect base for a trip to the Lake Disctict, being centrally located and busy without being over commercialised.
I would definitely recommend the Fisherbeck, but if I were to stay again would probably try a different room.

Room Tip: Our room (6) was a little small with no view, so request a room on the first floor or at the front o...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donna3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us.

Room 6 is one of our standard economy rooms so unfortunately you don't get the views that are just absolutely fabulous from the front facing rooms. One of our visitors today has just said that in the 15 years he has been staying with us he has never seen it so clear.

And we are indeed blessed with our very convenient location being just about half way between the lake to the south and shops and restaurants to the north. Both are a very easy relatively level stroll away.

Have a great summer and we do hope you will think of us again if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very comfortable and clean room. We got the last room that the hotel had available for the weekend, double room with king bed and spa bath. Super comfy firm bed. Spa bath standard size but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was excellent with different choices every day. All served at the table by friendly and attentive staff. Nice to be able to just sit and relax and enjoy breakfast. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheery_Bye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, even if it was the last room.

And we are so pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. I will also forward your commentson to our lovely staff. They really do try to do a good job and most of the time succeed.

Thank you again and we do hope you might think of us again if you are planning a future trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been coming to stay at The Fisherbeck for over 5 years now and cannot fault their hospitality and standard of service at all. We recently got married and Ray and Gillian congratulated us with a complimentary glass of champagne. As we are keen walkers, the location is ideal for us and we are lucky enough each year to stay in the same annexe room. The annexe rooms are particularly good as it saves carrying rucksacks etc through several areas to get to your room. The Fisherbeck also has a drying room for the unpredictable inclement weather, and we were able to have our breakfast outside of the usual dining hours so that we could start our walk and make the most of the day. This hotel not only caters for walkers but if you enjoy a sightseeing holiday it is an excellent base. Ray and Gillian are great hosts and every year it feels like you are returning to see old friends, see you both in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, General Manager at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
I really cannot believe that it is now five years since your first stay with us. I remember so well your initial contact was from on board ship whilst you were on a posting in the Indian Ocean or somewhere similar.

It has been great to see you on each of your return visits and we are just so glad that you have a great time whilst you are here in Ambleside.

Congratulations again on the recent nuptials and we do hope you will be back with us again in the not too distant future.

All the very best

Ray & Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have just returned from a two night break at The Fisherbeck with my husband. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the fells. It was a sun trap and made us feel like we were abroad. The room itself was very comfortable with a very modern toilet and separate shower room. There is a great choice for breakfast all cooked and served fresh to your table. No fighting for space at a buffet. No evening meals served but this allows you to sample one of the many restaurants around Ambleside and further afield. However they do serve "light bites" including a delightful cheese platter which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners and the rest of the staff are all very friendly always appearing interested in how you have spent your day. We will definitely be back and will recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated.

We have been blessed with some wonderful weather recently and the balcony rooms are just perfect when there is some brightness.

We do think that breakfast is such an important meal of the day so we are pleased that you appreciated the choices available. Out daily specials add that extra little something each morning so that the menu is never quite the same two days running.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the rooms at the front of the house . New, modern , high quality fittings . Not quite the private patio as expected from the marketing as road facing and others had to cross to get thier rooms - however , still very pleasent , we didn't think it was an issue .

Excellent welcome, cup of tea on arrival, friendly and helpful , we felt at home straight away.

Breakfast is executed with extreme efficiency - almost too efficient but overall it adds character. All served at the table. Much better than having to get up and down . Great choice of breakfasts .

Lovely gift of a little bottle of prosecco for my birthday .

Some areas could do with an update , but all is tidy and clean

Overall , great place , we would certainly revisit .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themadones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us to celebrate your birthday.

The Garden Rooms have proved very popular indeed with visitors since they were built and on summer days like today are ideal for sitting outside before or after a day out in the beautiful English Lake District.

We do hope you might think of us again if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing