We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked the Fisherbeck for a one night stay because we were passing through the area. The room we were given was large, well decorated and furnished and very clean. There was a separate shower and toilet, which made good use of the available space. There was a good range of toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and filtered water. Large windows opened on to a balcony with two seats and a table.

When we arrived (quite late in the evening) we were shown to our room and invited back to reception for complementary tea/coffee once we had settled in. The lounge is very comfortable and overlooks the front of the hotel; we spent some time relaxing there with drinks from the bar.

The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was extensive, cooked to order and very tasty.

This is obviously a family run hotel and is certainly not a B&B - we have just returned from 2 weeks in Scotland and more than half of the hotels had rooms and facilities which were not up to the Fisherbeck's standard, for equivalent prices.

The only downside was the noise made by the couple in the room above. They arrived back at 11:15pm and spent the next 45 minutes walking about the room (which unfortunately had creaking floorboards) and talking - and once they got into bed, the noise did not cease. However, we heard no noise from any of the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and it is good to know that we compared well to other establishments on your recent tour.

Building like ours were, of course, not originally designed to provide accommodation in the way it does now so good use of space comes with the territory. The bathrooms in your room are housed in what was originally the 3 feet thick end wall which was extended some 30 years ago.

Breakfast, I do always think, when you are staying somewhere for bed & breakfast should be an experience you don't normally have at home when someone else is cooking a menu you don't normally have, and doing the clearing up afterwards. Glad we got it right.

Many thanks again.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for The Fisherbeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I do not usually write bad reviews, I would rather write a good one but I feel I must share my views in this case. We have just returned from a planned road trip through Wales & The Lakes & as usual I did my homework & booked what I thought were three 4* Hotels. The previous two were as described and we were very happy but we were very disappointed with this one which is advertised as a 4* Hotel but is at best a 3* B&B. In agreement with the previous review, when we arrived at The Fisherbeck, my daughter was struggling with her case & the receptionist suggested that she leave it at the bottom of the stairs and that my husband come back for it, which he did. The room was small & the colours throughout were gaudy. There was mold around the bath, scuffs on the walls, cheap chipped furniture and no bedside lamps for reading, only spot lights on the ceiling. The beds were old & I was rolling towards the middle as my husband is a lot heavier than me. But the noise was the worst, we had a family above us which kept us awake plus we heard every flush of the toilets in the 2 rooms next to us and the cisterns refilling. We were booked in for 3 nights but left after 2, spoiling our well earned holiday. I have no problem with staying in an establishment such as this but if it is described as a 4* Hotel and I am charged as such, I expect to receive the service and comfort that I have paid for. On the plus side, the breakfast & location is good and people were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

In response to a poor review a week earlier, I have to respond with a review of my own. I am very used to staying away in hotels regularly, both for business and social occasions. Yes, The Fisherbeck is not a 5*, 100+ room hotel, but neither is it just a bed and breakfast. I have NEVER had service as personal as this in any of the hotels I have previously stayed in. The attention to detail in the rooms is fantastic. The rooms are spotless every day. A little fairy magically returns your room to an impecable state when you go out each day. The breakfast choice is the best I've ever encountered and quality of cooking superb. The owners and their staff take an interest in you without being overbearing. I can only find one fault. When the hotel is full, there are not enough parking spaces. This leads to a very awkward feeling that you do not want to take your car out for fear of losing your space. The solution of boxing in cars and leaving keys at reception is not really acceptable for the money you pay per night. I'm sure a solution to this could be found by using the car park next door and getting the parking fee knocked off your bill. Overall, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone for any occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northantsnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just returned from 2 nights stay at the Fisherbeck,could not fault anything about the place,spotlessly clean,lovely room and great staff,and the breakfast is outstanding,top job Fisherbeck will happily recommend to anyone ;)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Uppy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We seem to have ticked all the boxes so thanks also for being so complimentary.

I do have a current theory though that this fabulous weather is making every stay here in the Lake District just that little bit better!!!!

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back if you are ever planning a return trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A weekend walking in the Lake District. Stayed at the Fisherbeck for two nights. Very good accommodation, great breakfast, and short walk into town for bars & restaurants. Car parking on the road wasn't a problem and Fisherbeck gave me a parking disc. My room was a single, which was small but perfectly comfortable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

So very glad you had a good weekend away walking in the Lake District.

Our single room was refurbished last year and although not a large room it is a great favourite with our loan travelers who appreciate having a very good sized full en-suite bathroom.

Hope we'll see you again if you are heading this way.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Cracking Hotel in a spot on location with spotless modern room & bathroom.
We found the staff very friendly & attentive. Discovered a nice birthday suprise of Champagne when returned to room. Lovely breakfast with great choice.
Will defenitely return.

Room Tip: Garden rooms & first floor rooms with balconies. Spa bath/shower bathrooms of good size.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and we so pleased that you had an enjoyable time away for your birthday.

So glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and that the staff were helpful. We will pass your comments along to them. I know they really appreciate the fact that people think they are doing a great job. We certainly couldn't manage without them.

Enjoy this fabulous summer.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We looked forward to this holiday for a whole year and had another wonderful stay with Ray and Gillian and were certainly not disappointed! We arrived on 6th July and spent 2 incredible weeks relaxing at this lovely hotel, enjoying its comfort and beautiful surroundings. We were greeted with some bubbly on arrival, a lovely gesture! Room 2 has wonderful views from its balcony and is superbly presented throughout with a luxurious bathroom. Breakfast is always a delight, with some lovely 'breakfast specials' and attention to every detail by the great staff team. We absolutely adore holidaying in Cumbria and have booked this wonderful hotel again for another 2 weeks next year - can't wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhoey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

I think that the most incredible thing about your 2 week stay with us this year was the quite unreal hot weather that we had and my memories of you are watching you sit, quite often in the shade reading away for hours on end and being totally relaxed. That is exactly what a holiday should be all about, interspersed with activities as and when you feel inclined, and the Lake District certainly has plenty of activities to choose from.

It will be lovely to see you back again next year, trying out Woodside Cottage.

Have a great year and make the most of this weather while it lasts. It's been a very long time since we had it so good. Here's hoping for 2014.

All the very best to you both.

Gill & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing