We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lakes destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect lakes destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in the Fishebeck for three nights in early August. We needed to add an extra night and they were able to accommodate us very quickly. The terrace rooms are lovely, clean, well presented and spacious. The bathroom was fabulous with very nice toiletries (If that's what's important to you!). The staff were polite, welcoming and professional. The breakfast was the highlight for us! Excellent choice with daily specials, not just full English or grapefruit! The soaked apricots with yogurt, granola and honey was delightful. Another bonus was the parking which was ample. We were also able to leave the car for a few hours after we checked our which was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the terrace/decking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it.

Glad you liked your room and we chose the toiletries because we thought they were great quality, looked good and are eco-friendly. Thanks for noticing them.

The fruit compote with honey, granola & yogurt has been on our breakfast menu for about 6 years, and every time we review the menus we just don't want to change it...folks just seem to love it. So it's there to stay.

Thank you again and we hope we might be able to welcome you back some time.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    105
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
340
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay at the Fisherbeck. Me and my partner were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The service from all members of staff was excellent from those on the front desk to the ladies serving at breakfast. Check in was quick and easy and we were in our room within a couple of minutes. We were shown to our room (room 12) by a member of staff and we were thrilled with our room. The garden rooms which are newly built are excellent and a joy to stay in. They are very well furnished with both indoor and outdoor seating, a lovely comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a spacious bathroom with everything you need. The room is also cleaned daily to a very high standard. The bed was brilliant and we both slept soundly every night.
The breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay. I have seen other reviewers complain that they would like to see a buffet. The breakfast is fine the way it is. I liked knowing that everything was being made to order for me. I would like to ask the manager to send my compliments to the staff at breakfast who were always excellent. They always took your order quickly and they were very on the ball with replenishing things such as toast, juice and coffee.
The location of The Fisherbeck is also very good. Located around 5/10 minute walk from central Ambleside. It is a nice quiet location with hardly and traffic after 9pm. A very conveniently located property for both walking into Ambleside and travelling around the Lake District in general.
Overall a great place to stay if you are holidaying in the lakes, we liked it so much that we didn't want to leave and we are both already looking forward to returning to the Fisherbeck.

Room Tip: Room 12 was excellent and good value for £108 per night (including midweek discount).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for writing your review and we particularly liked the photos that you posted.

I have passed your comments along to our lovely staff in the dining room who not only looked after you at breakfast time but also cleaned your room. We take the view that whilst you are on holiday you should be able to come back each day and your room should be as clean as it was when you first arrived.

We are also blessed with great reception staff who will have looked after you at check in and departure. Rachel, our manager, is also a very well qualified chef and it is she & I who do most of the cooking at breakfast time. Thanks for your comments.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope you will think of us again if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Booked based on reviews from TA and location.

I really have nothing but good to say about this hotel, all the staff where great to deal with always made you feel like you was the most important person there and that nothing was too much trouble.
The location was 5 mins walk outside of amblesides centre and 10 mins in the other direction to the lake. it was on the main road but set so far back i heard no road noise.
It was in the middle of the heatwave when we arrived the hotel provided us with fans and explained they left curtians closed as the sun shines into the room.

The room was fantasic very clean and very morden, the bed was so comfy am considering going back to steal it, although it was a twin room we book, the bed was joined as a double, (this was more to keep my gf parents happy) and for once it never felt like it was just two beds pushed together.

The bathroom was very smartly referb'd and the spa bath worked a treat, Towels were plently.
Plently of toiletries
The filtered water in the room was a nice touch.along with plenty of tea and coffee facilities

The breakfast was cooked fresh and everything served to the table, plently of staff making sure everything we needed was there to hand.

Thank you to the owner who gave me the tips on getting down to oxford.

if your looking for a place to stay, you have found it this place is everything and more that i can write.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The beds in the room in which you stayed are specifically designed to link properly so that you don't get the feeling that 2 beds are just pushed together. This makes these rooms very flexible being able to use them as both double or twin rooms. And they are very high quality beds made by Sealy right here in Cumbria. We have been very pleased with them and have used them as our supplier for many years.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with our little boy. Staff were helpful and flexible in accommodating us. Our Garden room was beautiful. Impeccably clean and a bathroom you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was excellent too and tailored e.g we had soya milk. The hotel is very well located for a short walk to Ambleside. The Log House restaurant is directly opposite and we enjoyed a very nice meal there. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ged987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have found in recent years that more and more people have food allergies or just likes and dislikes so we keep gluten free products in at all times and we can easily arrange to get soya milk in the village (most of the time). So glad we could accommodate your needs.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Fisherbeck. On arriving our welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was on the second floor and it was beautifully decorated with lovely quality bedding that was a joy to sleep in. Our room was spotless, as was the hotel throughout .The breakfast was fantastic , all served to you at your table by very efficient staff.The produce they use are all locally sourced and the quality really shows in the taste! They also have a daily breakfast special, which is something a little bit different to what's on the already, extensive menu.The only niggle was the creaky floorboards, but don't let that put you off from missing one of the best breakfasts being served in Amble side. We would definitely go back and I highly recommend you try it if you want a b&b with lots of added extra's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are just pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do think that if you are staying somewhere for "bed" & "breakfast", both should be memorable for the right reasons, so thank goodness the bed was more than comfortable and the breakfasts were enjoyed.

We do hope we will see you again in the future if you are planning another stay in Ambleside.
With thanks again.

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a room with a balcony and it was magnificent. 10 minute walk either way to the lake or the city centre. The staff were friendly and and very helpful. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet yet beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Whilst we can't guarantee a quiet stay we are at least neither in the hub of the village or at the lake side being uniquely situated just about half way between the two and in a usually quiet location.

Enjoy the rest of this wonderful summer.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked the Fisherbeck for a one night stay because we were passing through the area. The room we were given was large, well decorated and furnished and very clean. There was a separate shower and toilet, which made good use of the available space. There was a good range of toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and filtered water. Large windows opened on to a balcony with two seats and a table.

When we arrived (quite late in the evening) we were shown to our room and invited back to reception for complementary tea/coffee once we had settled in. The lounge is very comfortable and overlooks the front of the hotel; we spent some time relaxing there with drinks from the bar.

The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was extensive, cooked to order and very tasty.

This is obviously a family run hotel and is certainly not a B&B - we have just returned from 2 weeks in Scotland and more than half of the hotels had rooms and facilities which were not up to the Fisherbeck's standard, for equivalent prices.

The only downside was the noise made by the couple in the room above. They arrived back at 11:15pm and spent the next 45 minutes walking about the room (which unfortunately had creaking floorboards) and talking - and once they got into bed, the noise did not cease. However, we heard no noise from any of the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and it is good to know that we compared well to other establishments on your recent tour.

Building like ours were, of course, not originally designed to provide accommodation in the way it does now so good use of space comes with the territory. The bathrooms in your room are housed in what was originally the 3 feet thick end wall which was extended some 30 years ago.

Breakfast, I do always think, when you are staying somewhere for bed & breakfast should be an experience you don't normally have at home when someone else is cooking a menu you don't normally have, and doing the clearing up afterwards. Glad we got it right.

Many thanks again.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing