We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Lake District UK”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We feel very comfortable and welcoming the moment we stepped into this small guest house in the Ambleside of Lake District. You will not regret to come to stay in this guest house as you will feel like staying in a typical English home, with most of the furniture and curtains are in real English. We were served with English Lakeside breakfast and we all really enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast . See the photos we attached here and you will like this warm guest house if you are planning to come to Lake District .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKTey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. You certainly traveled a long way to be with us.

We hope you had a very nice time traveling around England and had a safe & pleasant return trip home.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for The Fisherbeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just returned from our fourth visit to The Fisherbeck my wife and I wanted to leave a comment. This hotel is second to none. The rooms are very well equipped, the service is excellent and the breakfast is amazing. If you are planning a walk in the fells then this will certainly set you up for the day. Also look out for the daily special's ( herb scones and haddock fishcakes!) Ray and Gillian are very friendly and the staff are all very polite and helpful. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from the centre of Ambleside with it's variety of bars and eating places. We have stayed in four different types of room here (garden, balcony and top floor) and all four have been very clean and comfortable. We are due back in October for a week and we are both really looking forward to it. If you are planning a visit to Ambleside then we would highly recommend The Fisherbeck

Jay and Wendy Bracey

Room Tip: Balcony rooms offer a great view of the fells.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandJayBracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

How very kind of you to write your review and your very complimentary comments. It really is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to your return in October. Let us hope that some of the stunning summer weather that you experienced on your previous visits will continue until then.

Rachel, our manager & expert scone maker & I have come up with ideas for one or two new breakfast specials...though still in the experimental stages..so there might be something new to try on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in the Fishebeck for three nights in early August. We needed to add an extra night and they were able to accommodate us very quickly. The terrace rooms are lovely, clean, well presented and spacious. The bathroom was fabulous with very nice toiletries (If that's what's important to you!). The staff were polite, welcoming and professional. The breakfast was the highlight for us! Excellent choice with daily specials, not just full English or grapefruit! The soaked apricots with yogurt, granola and honey was delightful. Another bonus was the parking which was ample. We were also able to leave the car for a few hours after we checked our which was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the terrace/decking area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it.

Glad you liked your room and we chose the toiletries because we thought they were great quality, looked good and are eco-friendly. Thanks for noticing them.

The fruit compote with honey, granola & yogurt has been on our breakfast menu for about 6 years, and every time we review the menus we just don't want to change it...folks just seem to love it. So it's there to stay.

Thank you again and we hope we might be able to welcome you back some time.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay at the Fisherbeck. Me and my partner were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The service from all members of staff was excellent from those on the front desk to the ladies serving at breakfast. Check in was quick and easy and we were in our room within a couple of minutes. We were shown to our room (room 12) by a member of staff and we were thrilled with our room. The garden rooms which are newly built are excellent and a joy to stay in. They are very well furnished with both indoor and outdoor seating, a lovely comfortable bed, tv, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a spacious bathroom with everything you need. The room is also cleaned daily to a very high standard. The bed was brilliant and we both slept soundly every night.
The breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay. I have seen other reviewers complain that they would like to see a buffet. The breakfast is fine the way it is. I liked knowing that everything was being made to order for me. I would like to ask the manager to send my compliments to the staff at breakfast who were always excellent. They always took your order quickly and they were very on the ball with replenishing things such as toast, juice and coffee.
The location of The Fisherbeck is also very good. Located around 5/10 minute walk from central Ambleside. It is a nice quiet location with hardly and traffic after 9pm. A very conveniently located property for both walking into Ambleside and travelling around the Lake District in general.
Overall a great place to stay if you are holidaying in the lakes, we liked it so much that we didn't want to leave and we are both already looking forward to returning to the Fisherbeck.

Room Tip: Room 12 was excellent and good value for £108 per night (including midweek discount).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you so much for writing your review and we particularly liked the photos that you posted.

I have passed your comments along to our lovely staff in the dining room who not only looked after you at breakfast time but also cleaned your room. We take the view that whilst you are on holiday you should be able to come back each day and your room should be as clean as it was when you first arrived.

We are also blessed with great reception staff who will have looked after you at check in and departure. Rachel, our manager, is also a very well qualified chef and it is she & I who do most of the cooking at breakfast time. Thanks for your comments.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope you will think of us again if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Booked based on reviews from TA and location.

I really have nothing but good to say about this hotel, all the staff where great to deal with always made you feel like you was the most important person there and that nothing was too much trouble.
The location was 5 mins walk outside of amblesides centre and 10 mins in the other direction to the lake. it was on the main road but set so far back i heard no road noise.
It was in the middle of the heatwave when we arrived the hotel provided us with fans and explained they left curtians closed as the sun shines into the room.

The room was fantasic very clean and very morden, the bed was so comfy am considering going back to steal it, although it was a twin room we book, the bed was joined as a double, (this was more to keep my gf parents happy) and for once it never felt like it was just two beds pushed together.

The bathroom was very smartly referb'd and the spa bath worked a treat, Towels were plently.
Plently of toiletries
The filtered water in the room was a nice touch.along with plenty of tea and coffee facilities

The breakfast was cooked fresh and everything served to the table, plently of staff making sure everything we needed was there to hand.

Thank you to the owner who gave me the tips on getting down to oxford.

if your looking for a place to stay, you have found it this place is everything and more that i can write.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The beds in the room in which you stayed are specifically designed to link properly so that you don't get the feeling that 2 beds are just pushed together. This makes these rooms very flexible being able to use them as both double or twin rooms. And they are very high quality beds made by Sealy right here in Cumbria. We have been very pleased with them and have used them as our supplier for many years.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with our little boy. Staff were helpful and flexible in accommodating us. Our Garden room was beautiful. Impeccably clean and a bathroom you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was excellent too and tailored e.g we had soya milk. The hotel is very well located for a short walk to Ambleside. The Log House restaurant is directly opposite and we enjoyed a very nice meal there. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have found in recent years that more and more people have food allergies or just likes and dislikes so we keep gluten free products in at all times and we can easily arrange to get soya milk in the village (most of the time). So glad we could accommodate your needs.
Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Fisherbeck. On arriving our welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was on the second floor and it was beautifully decorated with lovely quality bedding that was a joy to sleep in. Our room was spotless, as was the hotel throughout .The breakfast was fantastic , all served to you at your table by very efficient staff.The produce they use are all locally sourced and the quality really shows in the taste! They also have a daily breakfast special, which is something a little bit different to what's on the already, extensive menu.The only niggle was the creaky floorboards, but don't let that put you off from missing one of the best breakfasts being served in Amble side. We would definitely go back and I highly recommend you try it if you want a b&b with lots of added extra's.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are just pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do think that if you are staying somewhere for "bed" & "breakfast", both should be memorable for the right reasons, so thank goodness the bed was more than comfortable and the breakfasts were enjoyed.

We do hope we will see you again in the future if you are planning another stay in Ambleside.
With thanks again.

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing