We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fisherbeck
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
434
121
31
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
434
121
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomspa bathwoodside cottageporridgesmoked haddocklake districtboiled eggshotel is spotlessly cleanbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentbreakfast stafffantastic breakcar parkshort walklovely loungeleave your carhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at "The Fisherbeck" in Ambleside. The place is so charming and The breakfast is out of this world. Raymond runs his establishment so professionally and we shared many stories together. In the evenings we were able to relax in their sitting room and enjoy some port, cheeses and chat with other guest. The room was comfortable and quiet and the location perfect. We can't wait go back. Thank you Rachel for the wonderful marmalade. We are enjoying it every day here in Montreal
Maxine and Roman Peker

Room Tip: The hotel can be fully booked so any room will do
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellagoldie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we are just pleased that we were able to send you away with a little something to remind you of Ambleside....enjoy the marmalade. We make it ourselves and I must say that it does seem to be quite a hit with many of our guests.

Trusting you had a safe and pleasant return journey home to Canada.

With thanks again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and it was just perfect, the room was clean tidy - only negative was that it was very warm, but this turned out to be our fault as we couldn't work the child proof (or adult proof in this case) window latch which meant we couldn't cool the room down, if we had asked rather than assumed it didn't open all would have been fine!
The breakfast is out of this world, and certainly meant there was no need for lunch! 3 courses of delicious!!!
The location is perfect, just far enough out of Ambleside to be quiet but an easy walk both to Windermere and into Ambleside!
Would stay here again in a flash!

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't bother paying for the fell view but go for the spa bath option, the fell view was mostly car park and road view with the fell in the distance!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriaslatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

SO SORRY about the window latch. Health & Safety what more can I say. And the heat would have been all the noticeable this summer because we had quite a few very hot & sunny days.

But glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were well fed & watered at breakfast.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back some time in the future...perhaps in cooler weather or with window opening instructions on arrival.

All the very best & kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Fisherbeck in room 16, family room for myself wife & 10yr old son, the room was spotless, the beds were super comfortable, with crisp clean white linen, all the the bits & pieces you would expect in your hotel room, only with a little bit more than you would expect, fresh filtered water in air tight bottles I thought was a nice touch, and the baskets in the bathroom containing soaps etc were great, lots of extra bits and pieces you would not receive anywhere else, very well thought out, nice view out of window of the fells, now I have stayed in quite a few hotels over the years in the lakes as I have family there,but I have to say this one is faultless,I have a terrible eye for detail,and everywhere you looked it was perfect.then we arrived for breakfast which was incredible, I have to say I have worked in hotels for the last 27 yrs, many of them as a senior Manager, and still do, so I know high working standards when I see them, and I have to say there breakfast menu, Service and presentation of food as well as the Quality of the food was fantastic, you could not fault it, it was an experience in its self, simply stunning,if you are looking for a place to stay were you will get value for money, a great nights sleep, a breakfast you will never forget,this is the place to go,you will be made to feel very welcome by the super friendly staff who genuinely want you to have a great stay,and can I say to the people who own the hotel, you should be very proud of what you have achieved, It was a pleasure to stay at your property,we are already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 family room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff86337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Wow. Thank you so much. Your comments are quite overwhelming. We do work very hard to make each guests stay as comfortable and hospitable as we can and when someone within the industry pays us such compliments it means a great deal because you know the other side of the equation.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We feel very comfortable and welcoming the moment we stepped into this small guest house in the Ambleside of Lake District. You will not regret to come to stay in this guest house as you will feel like staying in a typical English home, with most of the furniture and curtains are in real English. We were served with English Lakeside breakfast and we all really enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast . See the photos we attached here and you will like this warm guest house if you are planning to come to Lake District .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKTey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. You certainly traveled a long way to be with us.

We hope you had a very nice time traveling around England and had a safe & pleasant return trip home.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just returned from our fourth visit to The Fisherbeck my wife and I wanted to leave a comment. This hotel is second to none. The rooms are very well equipped, the service is excellent and the breakfast is amazing. If you are planning a walk in the fells then this will certainly set you up for the day. Also look out for the daily special's ( herb scones and haddock fishcakes!) Ray and Gillian are very friendly and the staff are all very polite and helpful. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from the centre of Ambleside with it's variety of bars and eating places. We have stayed in four different types of room here (garden, balcony and top floor) and all four have been very clean and comfortable. We are due back in October for a week and we are both really looking forward to it. If you are planning a visit to Ambleside then we would highly recommend The Fisherbeck

Jay and Wendy Bracey

Room Tip: Balcony rooms offer a great view of the fells.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandJayBracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

How very kind of you to write your review and your very complimentary comments. It really is very much appreciated and we are looking forward to your return in October. Let us hope that some of the stunning summer weather that you experienced on your previous visits will continue until then.

Rachel, our manager & expert scone maker & I have come up with ideas for one or two new breakfast specials...though still in the experimental stages..so there might be something new to try on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews