We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B & B”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After reading the reviews on here, regarding the overly strict owner, i was initially nervous about our 2 night reservation here but these worries were ill founded. To be honest we had no reason to complain so we never had to come up against him but whenever we spoke to him he was always polite, if not overly friendly, but we prefer that. We do not go on holiday to make small talk with someone we don't know for hours(we both have to do that within our jobs so prefer to keep to ourselves when we are on holiday together).
The room we were in was not overly large and the bathroom was small but that did not deter from the charm of the whole establishment. I felt so comfortable that it was almost like a home away from home.The only issue was that the window looked out onto a wall but you have to pay extra for a room with a view. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for The Fisherbeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I friend & I based ourselves here for a wet weekend hiking.

Everyone was really helpful, in particular the owner who stayed up til 1am to receive us after a very long drive.

The hotel is warm and very clean. We stayed in a superior twin which again was clean and to a very high standard.

A real bonus to walkers is their facilities for drying wet clothing. Just dump your wet gear in reception after your day's hike and the next morning it's dry and you're ready to go again.

Thank-you for making our weekend trouble-free and very enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Exercise4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from another great stay at Fisherbeck. We can't recommend this place highly enough. The hotel is spotless and we are always welcomed with a smile. Breakfast is amazing, there's something for everyone. From full English to boiled eggs, salmon or muffin basket. My personal favourite is the porridge with honey and whisky soaked sultanas.
This weekend we had the pleasure of staying in Woodside cottage, the deceivingly large cottage attached to the hotel. This place is great for families with younger children. With a small garden at the front, ideal for sitting in on a summers evening with a bottle of wine while the kids are tucked up in bed.
We can't wait to get back to Ambleside and Fisherbeck.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank AlfSamElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned after 3 night stay here cant fault anything helpful staff and welcoming owners nothing was to much troublevhighly recommended and great weather too local resturants good you can leave your car and do walks out of the front doorvwe will be nooking again soon

Room Tip: Top floor seemsvthe quietest
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Fisherbeck for 3 nights 14,15 and 16th November, we have stayed before but took our 17 year old daughter with us and stayed in the family room (16) which was lovely and plenty of space, the hosts are friendly(can`t understand some of the unpleasant remarks on here) the breakfasts are excellent I tried the haddock for a change and it was lovely as were the full English staff couldn't do enough for you, our daughter was very impressed and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Yes, we are back again! It says something for the hotel that we always check availability here first if we are planning to come to this part of the lake district, and we haven't been disappointed yet! we always get a warm welcome, hearty breakfasts, great accommodation, and a wealth of knowledgeable advise! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: rooms at front have great views, especially at sunset!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Located just a little way from the centre of Ambleside, this friendly hotel is outstanding. I was travelling solo and had a small but excellently appointed single room; there is a huge attention to detail like overhead bed lights for reading, a remote controlled shower (so you don't freeze or scald adjusting the temperature), very comfortable bed, and the list goes on ... Many have commented on the excellent breakfast, which is no exaggeration: wonderful and varied. I thought that the hotel was very reasonably priced - they even let me keep my car in the car park on the departure day while I went walking in the fells. I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing