We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

From first arriving at the Fisherbeck you get the feeling of being welcomed, everyone is really helpful.
Stayed in lovely spacious ground floor room, en-suite bathroom with both bath and shower and after a hard walk in the hills is great.
Breakfast to die for with a large selection on offer plus some tasty specials.
A couple of minutes walk sees you in the town for a selection of good pubs and restaurants (Dodds a must)
Thanks again for another lovely weekend.
Mike & Alison

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    109
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
349
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A recent reviewer stated the Fisherbeck had no '"Wow." That is not surprising. It is tradional with all the touches that speak of extra value. Service is at the fore and the Breakfasts are very high quality. Warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the Fisherbeck has polite, welcoming staff who go out of their way to help, in our experience. Great value for money and with free parking and quiet location near the centre it is an ideal base.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over the valentines weekend - 3 nights for the price of 2, romantic but still price conscious :) After researching several b&b's and hotels in the area we plumped for the Fisherbeck and booked via their website which was very simple and received a nice confirmation letter a couple of days later. It's in a great location just on the edge of town and has a decent sized private car park. We had a room on the second floor with a lovely view of a waterfall which was well equipped, spotlessly clean and complete with a spa bath and good quality toiletries. We also got heart shaped homemade biscuits as it was valentines weekend which was a nice touch. We received a warm welcome from all the staff who got the blend exactly right for being on hand for you and leaving you to your own devices. There's a great lounge area with spectacular views with a small bar to the side which made a great place for a drink before going out for the evening or when coming back from a long day walking. The bed was extremely comfy and its in a quiet position set back from the road so after a good nights sleep all that's needed is a hearty breakfast and the Fisherbeck definitely delivers with everything the discerning breakfast eater could wish for; great quality ingredients cooked to perfection and not a frozen hash brown in sight! Maybe not great for the areas lunchtime economy as you could easily skip food during the day.
Plenty of great walks without needing to get in your car and loads of restaurants (Dodds was particularly good) and the local independent cinema (zepharelli's) is well worth a visit for the film and meal deal. All in all a great stay and we'd definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just spent another lovely 3 nights at the Fisherbeck. The staff as usual were courteous and attentive. Gillian and Raymond are the perfect hosts. Great breakfast with homemade muesli bread and jam. Eggs are always perfectly cooked. Comfortable lounge to sit in when the weather is not too good. Will be returning again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Fisherbeck for 3 nights. The hotel location was ideal, situated a few minutes walk from Ambleside town centre. The staff and service received was excellent. Our room was clean, with plenty of room and the most stunning view of the hills on the horizon. We had a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. A variety of breakfast options were presented to us, we thought the cooked breakfast was clean and not greasy. The scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on bagel was simply delicious. Overall, a hotel with a great location and service. We booked directly with the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MistryMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A repeat trip to the lakes. Ambleside is a great place to base yourself with ample outdoor shops, pubs, restaurants, a cinema and very good access to some decent hikes.

We've stayed at the Fisherbeck before and a return booking was a 'no-brainier'. The owners are amazingly friendly, the service second to none and the facilities great (warm, dry, clean, rooms to a high spec. and lots of staff to tend to you over breakfast)

What caught my attention this time was the attention to detail. The breakfast menu is extensive, but the quality of food exceptional with locally sourced free range eggs and specially sourced coffee to die for to give just a few examples.

And don't forget that if you get drenched whilst out, you can just dump your wet gear in reception and it will be dried for you overnight free of charge ready for your next days activities.

Why stay anywhere else?? The Fisherbeck is a must in our eyes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Exercise4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked a room on the internet the day before .Very competitive rate.The room was well appointed clean and comfortable.Situated at the rear of the hotel but that is to be expected for the price we paid.Breakfast was first class plenty of choice and friendly staff nice decor and attention to detail

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing