We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class hotel”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Fisherbeck and the standard is every bit as high as the first. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and white fluffy towels. The breakfast is outstanding with plenty of locally sourced well cooked food. The service is excellent. The Lite Bite menu is excellent with a good choice of toasties, cheeseboards, desserts and teas and coffees. The hotel is in an excellent location-
10 minutes from the town centre and 10-15 minutes from the pier. Raymond and Gillian, the owners, and their staff go out of their way to make a very enjoyable stay for their guests. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Fisherbeck to our friends and family and will certainly return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyrshreMonachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We go to Ambleside often but have never stayed at the Fisherbeck before, having searched online for a family room for four we chose this hotel, largely based on reviews. On arrival the proprietor gave us a warm welcome and showed us to room 19 at the top of the house, there was an enormous picture window with fabulous views over the mountains, he explained how everything worked and took the time to explain what to do if we wanted towels changing or more filtered water etc.. And what time breakfast was. He then offered to help with our bags. The weekend we stayed the hotel was fully booked but staff made you feel as if you were the only guest. The room was spotlessly clean with a large double bed and two full size single beds, all had fantastic mattresses and we're very comfortable. The breakfast menu at the Fisherbeck was extensive and between the four of us we tried out most combinations. The waiting staff were faultless attentive and friendly, the whole event ran like a well oiled machine. We all agreed that they were some of the best breakfasts we had eaten . Little touches like cloth napkins and good quality tea and coffee, locally produced food and beautiful preserves. We stayed on a 3 nights for the price of two which made it good value. There are many great walks direct from the hotel and staff are happy to advise you of these. We also used the hotels passes for Langdale spa swimming pool, Raymond the proprietor very helpfully drew me a map and talked me through how to get there, despite being incredibly busy. On checking out from the Fisherbeck we were told if we wanted to leave the car in the car park that would be fine. The most important thing for me when staying away from home are comfort, cleanliness and service, this hotel has that and way more. On route home the hotel actually rang me to tell me I had left something behind and offered to post it the following day. All in all a fantastic hotel which I would highly recommend .

Room Tip: Room 19 for a family of four was perfect, with views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

From first arriving at the Fisherbeck you get the feeling of being welcomed, everyone is really helpful.
Stayed in lovely spacious ground floor room, en-suite bathroom with both bath and shower and after a hard walk in the hills is great.
Breakfast to die for with a large selection on offer plus some tasty specials.
A couple of minutes walk sees you in the town for a selection of good pubs and restaurants (Dodds a must)
Thanks again for another lovely weekend.
Mike & Alison

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A recent reviewer stated the Fisherbeck had no '"Wow." That is not surprising. It is tradional with all the touches that speak of extra value. Service is at the fore and the Breakfasts are very high quality. Warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the Fisherbeck has polite, welcoming staff who go out of their way to help, in our experience. Great value for money and with free parking and quiet location near the centre it is an ideal base.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the valentines weekend - 3 nights for the price of 2, romantic but still price conscious :) After researching several b&b's and hotels in the area we plumped for the Fisherbeck and booked via their website which was very simple and received a nice confirmation letter a couple of days later. It's in a great location just on the edge of town and has a decent sized private car park. We had a room on the second floor with a lovely view of a waterfall which was well equipped, spotlessly clean and complete with a spa bath and good quality toiletries. We also got heart shaped homemade biscuits as it was valentines weekend which was a nice touch. We received a warm welcome from all the staff who got the blend exactly right for being on hand for you and leaving you to your own devices. There's a great lounge area with spectacular views with a small bar to the side which made a great place for a drink before going out for the evening or when coming back from a long day walking. The bed was extremely comfy and its in a quiet position set back from the road so after a good nights sleep all that's needed is a hearty breakfast and the Fisherbeck definitely delivers with everything the discerning breakfast eater could wish for; great quality ingredients cooked to perfection and not a frozen hash brown in sight! Maybe not great for the areas lunchtime economy as you could easily skip food during the day.
Plenty of great walks without needing to get in your car and loads of restaurants (Dodds was particularly good) and the local independent cinema (zepharelli's) is well worth a visit for the film and meal deal. All in all a great stay and we'd definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just spent another lovely 3 nights at the Fisherbeck. The staff as usual were courteous and attentive. Gillian and Raymond are the perfect hosts. Great breakfast with homemade muesli bread and jam. Eggs are always perfectly cooked. Comfortable lounge to sit in when the weather is not too good. Will be returning again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at The Fisherbeck for 3 nights. The hotel location was ideal, situated a few minutes walk from Ambleside town centre. The staff and service received was excellent. Our room was clean, with plenty of room and the most stunning view of the hills on the horizon. We had a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. A variety of breakfast options were presented to us, we thought the cooked breakfast was clean and not greasy. The scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on bagel was simply delicious. Overall, a hotel with a great location and service. We booked directly with the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MistryMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing