We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellousness in every respect”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything it says on the website was spot on. Nothing is too much trouble in all areas. Service at breakfast excellent from management and staff. and room service 10/10. Will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakes2014lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location for exploring the Lakes. The Fisherbeck is friendly, clean, great value for money and in easy walking distance to Ambleside with all its shops and eateries. No need to use the car at night. Staff were extremely accommodating. We even ordered snacks when too tired to go out to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just home today after a wonderful weeks stay at the Ralston self catering cottage. Checked in at the Fisherbeck Hotel. Three good sized bedrooms all with spacious en-suite shower/toilet, with complimentary toiletries. Best room was on the top floor which had a huge ensuite shower/bathroom with spalsh TV. Fully equiped kitchen with plenty of storage including a white wine cooler and a red wine rack. Downstairs loo with washing machine and tumble drier. Dining room, kitchen and living area all ran into the one room which was nice. Very clean. Patio doors off the lounge open the whole room up to a patio area which was pretty private. Hope to go back again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in The Fisherbeck recently for the Windermere Marathon, for anyone considering this in the future the location is excellent and only around a mile from the start line. The service we received in the hotel was polite and friendly from start to finish. The room was great, with some nice touches such as complementary biscuits and shower gel etc. The only negative would be the lack of bath in our room, much needed after our marathon! There is access to a local spa however, which we didn't take advantage of but is good to have. The view could have also been better, but unfortunately our room was rear-facing and I'm sure there are better vantages. The best thing about the stay has to be the breakfast, absolutely awesome! It's award-winning apparently and I can see why. I would definitely recommend the porridge with malt whisky soaked sultanas! The service at breakfast was also particularly excellent, big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

First time at The Fisherbeck. We chose this on the basis of TA reviews and we're not disappointed.

The place is well located with fine views of Langdale Pikes yet only a short stroll from the centre of Ambleside. Staff were friendly and attentive. Particularly at breakfast where the table service was impeccable. Great choice of breakfast with "specials" each day.

I got the impression on arrival that the receptionist was surprised that this was our first visit. I can now see why. I will certainly return as had quite a number of the guests we had the chance to meet during our stay.

We had booked a garden room, which are a little more expensive, but worth it. Lovely spacious rooms with a great bathroom (the rainforest shower is not to be missed)

Thank you Fisherbeck we will be back!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a little more expensive but well worth it. Spacious room and lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surf1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April. The bedroom was beautifully appointed with luxury bathroom with jacuzzi bath and two washbasins. The breakfast was very good and the staff polite and helpful. Convenient location close to the centre of town and with good car parking facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've stayed here three times over the past two years and can probably stay its the best b&b I have ever stayed in.

Each time we have been situated on the top floor which has spacious rooms and amazing views. Everything about this place is top class, and the fine detail is appreciated.

The breakfasts are very good, there is plenty of choice and it's all fresh, local food.

The owners are really nice and the gentleman showed me one of the nicest walks I've been on (Ambleside to Grasmere - ask him you'll thank me).

I don't stay anywhere else when I go to the Lakes, nowhere else compares.

Room Tip: Top floor - great views and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Great_guy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing