We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fisherbeck
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
431
120
31
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
431
120
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomspa bathwoodside cottageporridgeb bsmoked haddocklake districtboiled eggshotel is spotlessly cleanbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentbreakfast stafffantastic breakcar parkshort walklovely loungeleave your car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the Fisherbeck for two nights on our first trip to the Lakes, based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that we did. The location was great - halfway between the lake and the town, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They gave us great directions also for our drive up to Scotland. If we are ever back in Ambleside we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front - we were on the 3rd floor and the views were lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed over a bank holiday weekend and found the hotel owners to be very friendly. The accommodation was very clean and well kept. The breakfast was superb with a different "special" every day and the staff were very helpful and eager to please.
We discovered on our return home that we had left a phone charger in the room and when I phoned the next day to inquire I was informed that it had already been posted back to us, great service.
You can leave your car in the hotel car park as the location is very good with a short walk into Ambleside town centre one way and the harbour the other, plus a bus stop right outside.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crowey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything it says on the website was spot on. Nothing is too much trouble in all areas. Service at breakfast excellent from management and staff. and room service 10/10. Will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakes2014lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location for exploring the Lakes. The Fisherbeck is friendly, clean, great value for money and in easy walking distance to Ambleside with all its shops and eateries. No need to use the car at night. Staff were extremely accommodating. We even ordered snacks when too tired to go out to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just home today after a wonderful weeks stay at the Ralston self catering cottage. Checked in at the Fisherbeck Hotel. Three good sized bedrooms all with spacious en-suite shower/toilet, with complimentary toiletries. Best room was on the top floor which had a huge ensuite shower/bathroom with spalsh TV. Fully equiped kitchen with plenty of storage including a white wine cooler and a red wine rack. Downstairs loo with washing machine and tumble drier. Dining room, kitchen and living area all ran into the one room which was nice. Very clean. Patio doors off the lounge open the whole room up to a patio area which was pretty private. Hope to go back again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews