We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Lanes have a formula for running their business. Quality, attention to detail and service, at a level one rarely encounters these days. We had a garden room over three beautifully sunny days and made full use of it's outside seating location facing the Fell. The decor, facilities and furnishing of the suite is first class and immaculately cleaned. Breakfast at the Fisherbeck is legendary, with just cause. Our thanks to Mr and Mrs Lane and staff for a superb stay in their welcoming establishment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    105
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
343
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Fisherbeck where we were welcomed by Raymond and Gillian Lane who are the owners. As usual all the staff were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable.We chose one of their lovely garden rooms with our own outdoor seating area.
The breakfasts of course were excellent with the home made muesli, bread and preserves along with all the other locally sourced products. Looking forward already to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We decided on a weekend in The Lake District. The budget wasn't limitless, but I'm firmly in the camp of " no point going if the accommodation isn't at least comparable to what you have at home, preferably better!" Due to circumstances we were booking at what is short notice for us, about a week before our trip. We narrowed it down to Ambleside, which although some may find is too busy, it's a favourite for us.

I'd seen The Fisherbeck before, rooms looked lovely, seemed a little "outside of town", and on the main road in, but they do have some rooms with a balcony/outside space, which is a bonus. The only room left with a balcony was a twin, but after checking with the hotel, they informed us they can zip the beds together to make a large King size bed - even better. We decided to book, and I'm very happy that we did.

We arrived a little early, but that wasn't a problem, a very pleasant lady was on reception. She asked our preferences for milk at breakfast the following morning, which I thought was a nice touch, also if we wanted papers. She escorted us to our room, rather than just pointing us in the right direction, and then offered us complimentary tea/ coffee in the lounge once we were settled, Don't mind if we do!

The room was lovely, quite spacious, very clean and more akin to a 4 star hotel standard ( certainly ones we've been in). A huge bathroom with two wash basins, a shower cubicle AND, to my surprise, a jacuzzi bath, with very nice toiletries too, :-O. Perfect! Tea,coffee and biscuits provided in the room and a bottle of fresh filtered water(not branded bottled water), that is refreshed / topped up every day. Two doors leading to a decent sized balcony, with two rattan chairs and a table. A minor point - to the left of our balcony was a flat roof that happened to have ladders stored on, and what looked like the old hotel sign. Merely pointed out for the exceptionally fussy people - it certainly didn't ruin my 2 evenings whilst I was sat out there.

Plenty of choice for breakfast. Menu on the table with a daily special, and a waitress takes your order, it's not a buffet breakfast, which is nice for a change. I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on the first morning. Husband, smoked haddock second morning, and we both had the cooked breakfasts, good, tasty, quality local ingredients used. I'm not a fan of cooked breakfasts, or much in a morning, but the food was lovely. Light snacks are offered through the day, and they do offer packed lunches, but need to be ordered the night before. Had I realised earlier in the day, we probably would have ordered for our day out. It may be worth mentioning to visitors on arrival that this is available?

If you're looking for a good quality B&B and don't mind paying a bit more, it's certainly worth it. DON'T be put off by the fact it is on the main road (opposite The Log House) It' s set back a long way from the road, with a garden area / seating. We've stopped at other places right in the centre, and prefer the location of the Fisherbeck( quieter). It's five minutes to walk into Ambleside, and slightly longer to walk down to Windermere Lake. We opted to eat in Ambleside, and walk our meal off, back past the hotel for a sit by the lake before returning, and sitting on our balcony :-). And it's all a level walk. I was also surprised how quiet it was in the evening. We were extremely lucky and had blue skies and sunshine all weekend, both nights we sat on the balcony, yes it's not a full blown" rural view" views, but it was so peaceful and quiet, from quite early in the evening.

For those keen to leave your car behind - there is a bus stop right outside The Fisherbeck - we were very nearly tempted, but I'm afraid I like to take the kitchen sink wherever we go,(just in case)but it's not always practical on a bus. We spoke to an older couple who were very happy to use the bus service (they could use their free bus pass). As they said, it gives you more chance to admire the scenery, which you can't do quite so well if you're driving.

We'll certainly visit again, and as you can probably guess, I would not hesitate to recommend it to others. I was torn whether to do a review - do I want to keep the nice place to ourselves?! We used a travel website to book, but the owner (very nice gentleman) advised, it's always best to book direct, as they can probably offer the best deal.

I'll book further in advance next time, I want to make sure I get my lovely room again! (Pity we can't book the weather)!

Room Tip: We had a balcony room on the front, there are also rooms with seating area outside on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillhouse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have just arrived home from The Fisherbeck and what a lovely stay we had, nothing was to much trouble for all the staff, Myself and my boyfriend cannot fault anything about this hotel, the owner Ray was very welcoming and the service from all the waiting on staff was excellent, the breakfast was wonderful and a great variety of choice, we stayed in a garden room which included a fantastic bath and shower, clean room service everyday and we felt very well looked after. We would reccommend this hotel to anybody wanting to holiday in the lakes, thankyou for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Fisherbeck on Tuesday 24th June to Friday . My Son and his wife and baby also stayed in a Family room . We cannot fault one thing about the Hotel and the staff who looked after us . The rooms were spotless , The breakfasts to die for , such choice . They could not do enough for us , especially the baby . Everyone is so friendly and helpful and we cannot wait to go again next year , for a longer stay . We have already booked . well done to Raymond and Gillian Lane . You certainly know what you're doing .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The fisher beck is deserving of it's many good reviews we this time stayed in room 14 a large room with patio doors very light tastefully furnished a bath separate shower in modern bathroom other guests comment on breakfast it is first class we eat out both nights at watershead hotel highly recommend first class back to fisher beck many thanks

Room Tip: Room 14 large bright clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We booked here for a weekend Friday too Sunday. After finding the car park was full, the owner took care of it by moving his out.. There were no problems at all with that. The hotel was in a fantastic location 5 mins from town (walking) and 5 mins from the lake (walking). Stayed in room 7 which came with a spa bath and views were amazing. Friendly owners, clean, tidy, can not fault one thing. Already planning to book again. Great job

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing