We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Weekend Break...”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Weekend Break...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the weekend of the 8th August. When we checked in we were greeted with a very warm welcome and even asked what milk we would like at the breakfast table!! We stayed in a suite (room 14) and can very much recommend that room!! Spacious clean and new,the bathroom, shower and bath were fantastic. My partner commented that it may be the best room we have stayed in, Dont be put off that it is near the main road you cant hear a thing. The breakfast was first class, table service for your starter and main and the staff were so friendly. the only negative I would say is the car parking is a bit tight but this is just a minor point. Will be back here for sure and will ask for room 14 if we can although didnt get a chance to look at the rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 14 or any of the suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    109
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
349
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Fisherbeck provides facilities and location that will be hard to beat anywhere. This is our third stay at this hotel. The first was a room at the back, the second in an extension at the side, and this visit, a room to the front.
Room 18 on the second floor was to the usual high standards of every other room we've stayed in. Spacious bedroom area with a small separate toilet and shower room (but perfectly adequate). The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and the teas/coffees/biscuits (of which there are lots) are replenished every day. The view from the front is delightful however, my only complaint, and it is fairly minor, is that if you have your window open at night (and maybe your not supposed to, as it is on a safety latch), the traffic noise is quite loud. This is surprising as the main building is at least 40 yards from the main road.
Breakfast at the Fisherbeck is what breakfast should be in all hotels, but sadly isn't. From fresh homemade flapjacks and muffins, to full breakfast cooked to order, to interesting specials everyday, you will never be disappointed. From the kitchen staff to the waitresses, the breakfast experience is fantastic, and the whole thing works like clockwork (timely and efficient).
The staff are always very warm and friendly, and always there to offer help and support about anything.
Outside the front of the building are numerous tables and chairs where you can relax with a coffee, or something alcoholic.
The location of the hotel is 6 or 7 minute walk in to the centre of Ambleside, where is a fine array of shops, pubs and restaurants. A 10 minute walk will see you to the waters edge where you can get the boat to Bowness on Windermere, or just chill out with a glass of something on the lawn of another hotel.
If you are in the area, this is one hotel you really do not want to miss.

Room Tip: Three rooms on the front facing rooms on the first floor have balcony's. A great personal space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slushfundEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Fisherbeck in Ambleside - 1st to 3rd August 2014 - with some friends from Australia. It deserves its **** rating without a doubt, the staff can't do enough for you, very polite and attentive and are a credit to the hotel. There are beautiful clean and comfortable rooms, we had room 15 - superb in all ways plus there is a relaxing lounge area for a drink, tea/coffee or otherwise. and the hotel caters for all types. The breakfast is to die for - everything served fresh, yes perhaps a slight delay but worth it with a tremendous choice and mix and match is allowed. The hotel is just a hop,skip & jump into Amleside. The owner recommended The Bar & Grill at the Waterhead to us and of course we were not disappointed, just a pity that this is a B & B hotel only. Our friends were extremely impressed with the hotel and I am sure rave reviews will abound on their return to Aus at the end of the month. One thing for sure is that if I/we are in the area again there will be no hesitation as to where to stay. Once again to the management & staff Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d00dlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Fisherbeck was one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It looks welcoming and is sparkling clean. It's perfect for everyone! Rooms are equipped with a spa bath and luxury toiletries. The views from the windows are lovely and every room is top quality with great decorating and furnishings. For breakfast I loved the breakfast muffins- they aren't savory, they are sweet! The staff are very friendly and my stay at The Fisherbeck was out of this world.

Room Tip: Try getting one of the little holiday homes at the front- I haven't tried one but they look fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakesLover599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at The Fisherbeck for 7 nights. It was an amazing stay, friendly staff, delicious breakfast with a vast variety to choose from, spotless rooms and great location!

Upon arrival, the owner himself was waiting for us. We arrived quite late into the night (past midnight). He gave us a very warm welcome. The breakfast is definitely to die for! There is such a variety of meals to choose from. Something I really liked is the fact that you can even, sort of, create your own meal by choosing different food from different "set meals". The food is served to order and everything is fresh and just perfect. The waiters were all very efficient, polite and pleasant. They serve water in nice glass bottles. We wanted to purchase one bottle to bring home as a souvenir but we forgot! Will definitely buy one when we return!

We were almost always seated next to the huge breakfast room window and we definitely enjoyed this!

Now... the room... We were in room 15. Great internet connection - I had to bring my laptop with me to do some work while I was on holiday and I had no problem with this. The room had a spacious balcony with a table and 2 chairs as well. We did enjoy our balcony especially in the morning before breakfast. The toilet and shower are in separate rooms which we didn't mind at all. Everything is spotless clean. The bed and pillows were really comfy so you can rest assured of a great night's sleep after all the walking around The Lakes! We definitely appreciated that.

We hired a car while we were there so we appreciated the fact that we could park our car in the hotel's car park free of charge. When there were a couple of instances where there wasn't an available spot (because of a couple of other residents who didn't park their car as they should have!), we left the car key with the owner. No problem at all!

How about the location of this B&B? Well, it's just 5 - 7 minutes walk to the town and the same to Windermere Lake on the other side. Just perfect! Oh and I'd recommend THE WHITE LION for affordable and DELICIOUS lunch/dinner which is very close to the hotel. We also tried Tarantella - I liked my cannelloni but my boyfriend didn't like how his meat was cooked. We also tested Zeffirellis - The atmosphere is nice. We didn't realize it was a vegetarian restaurant so we just had 2 pizzas. Let's just say we weren't impressed. We wanted to try Dodd's Restaurant too but we had to wait over an hour for a table so that's how we went to Zeffirellis instead.

All in all, this has been a LOVELY stay in The Lakes. I MISS the lakes... Wish we are still there!

Oh one last thing - We had forgotten a bag with some important belongings when we checked-out. Thankfully, we were still close by so we returned after 4 hours or so to collect them. They were waiting for us with the bag, worried that we were driving for the airport already (Manchester Airport).

Thank you for such an amazing stay!
Bella & Malcolm

Room Tip: We got room 15 which has a spacious balcony, great Wi-Fi connection, toilet and a separate shower. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella_Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Fisherbeck.. thoroughly enjoyed visit. Just what I wanted in a stay, comfy quiet room and good choice of breakfast. Also excellent location for walking into Ambleside for a Drink or meal ( turn right on main road and an easy 10 minutes to center of town ). If wanting to go to the lake and perhaps take a boat trip turn left at main road . Also a 10 minute walk.

All in all an enjoyable stay....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inthedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here recently for my partners birthday.We booked room no.2 which came with a view of the fells.The room came with a super kingsize bed and spa bath.The hotel check in lady Elaine was extremely friendly and we felt at home straightaway.
The breakfast the following morning was excellent and I cannot recommend the Fisherbeck highly enough.I have stayed in many hotels in my lifetime as I am a Travel agency owner and this was one of the best.We will back.

Room Tip: Room number 2 - comes with balcony - great for afternoon sun and watching the sunset eating fish and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing