We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
mcr
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum and two year old twins. Really had a lovely stay. The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious even with two travel cots in. There was loads of wardrobe space etc. the toiletries in the room were really nice, the beds were the most comfortable I've come across in a hotel and the room was kept very clean.

Breakfast offered a good choice of locally sourced food to suit everyone and was freshly cooked.

The staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

The location is brilliant as it's only about a 10 minute walk to Ambleside and a 10 minute walk the other way to watergate bay to get the ferry over to Bowness on Windermere. Also there is a bus stop outside so we bought a day ticket for the south lakes one day and visited a few different places including Grasmere. It was lovely not having to find parking.

All in all we had a really great stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank satMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    109
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
362
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent hotel all round. It was our 12 week old baby boy's first mini break so we were looking forward to taking him to the Lakes for five days. The Fisherbeck was ideal. We had room 14 which was one of the out door rooms which was ideal for a young family. Very comfortable and spacious. Rare off street parking although a little tight but no drama. Ray and his wife could not do more for us. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The breakfast was excellent. Of course everyone has to say a couple of negative things........ the bed was too soft and the sausages at breakfast would be nicer if they were traditional pork sausages! Nice selection to choose from though.

It was my birthday on the Bank Holiday MOnday and the staff had left a small bottle of champagne for me (with two glasses)
Nice and central and a good base if you wish to explore the surrounding towns and villages.

Could not fault this place and we will definitely return soon. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have young children the garden rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricky250873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent accommodation here at the moment ,we where here this time last year. Staying in the garden room very spacious and clean ,with a very large bathroom and shower with lovely fluffy towels. Staff can't do more for you, the breakfast is excellent quality food all in all highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden room or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful grounds and stunning views over the fells. Really friendly staff. This B&B has lots to offer, the choice for breakfast was great, something for everyone, it isn't served too early either. They do snacks and packed lunches and bar drinks in the lovely lounge. The bus stop is right outside for getting around and it's perfect distance for walking to Lake Windermere or to Ambleside town. It is opposite one of the best restaurants in town too, The Log House. The room I had was modern with a lovely huge bath, perfect after a days walking.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views, they also have little apartments that can be rented weekly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent room and facilities. Clean and modern everything you would want. Staff friendly and polite. We chose room 4 very quiet and no stairs. Breakfast was served efficiently and had excellent choice. The walk to the center of Ambleside is only a couple of minutes and is all flat walking. Definitely better then the hotels in the town center. Will return soon

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank raintonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbum0204
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in August. We had a garden room.
Check in was done with ease and attentiveness ,
The room was beautiful, very clean and spacious .the bathroom again was immaculate and large, the toiletries and towels was excellent quality.
Breakfast was served with very attentive staff ,nothing was too much bother, just ask and it was provided,
Again quality of food excellent.
Would we return,without a doubt, great service ,keep up the excellent service it was a delight to stay in your wonderful hotel. Shame about the weather .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When staying for a week or more in an area I always look for self-catering options. I was very happy to find Woodside Cottage on the grounds of the Fisherbeck Hotel in Ambleside. It is a lovely 2 bedroom, 2 bath (1 en-suite) apartment/flat with all the cooking & laundry options needed within the flat. The interior was nicely thought out and very clean. The beds are comfortable. My only suggested would be curtains over the blinds as it rarely gets really dark at night in the summer, and I personally like a dark room for sleeping. It is also a plus to have on site parking. The hotel is an easy walk to the town center and also to the north end of Windermere for cruises. I highly recommend the location and the price, even in early July was reasonable. Great spot to travel further afield within the Lake District for day trips too.

Room Tip: The Fisherbeck has 3 self-catering options. I highly recommend Woodside Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anglophile82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing