We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed at The Fisherbeck for 2 nights Aug 29/30, and was very happy, with the welcome from
all the staff, and Raymond & Gill the owners. The hotel has a great location 5 minutes walk from Ambleside town. The reception lounge, and breakfast room share a fabulous window view onto
the mountains. I could have spent the whole weekend taking in the view from there. The bedroom was very spacious, and comfortable. I enjoyed a beer and a spirit, very good value for money.
Though I only ate there for breakfast, which they were happy to serve earlier than scheduled, the
food was plentiful and very tasty. I would love to visit again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irisheyespjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    109
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
349
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner over the august bank holiday weekend. Location is perfect, 5 minute walk to the lake and the boats and a 5 minute walk to the town.

We started in room 2 which was very spacious with a huge bed, balcony and modern bathroom with spa bath, double sink and shower cubical. Only slight negative was that the floor boards above were very noisy and we could hear lots of walking around from quite early on.

Breakfast was great. Lots of choice with hot food cooked to order. Very tasty.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to family's or couples and to anyone I know that wanted to visit Ambleside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Antoniou86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum and two year old twins. Really had a lovely stay. The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious even with two travel cots in. There was loads of wardrobe space etc. the toiletries in the room were really nice, the beds were the most comfortable I've come across in a hotel and the room was kept very clean.

Breakfast offered a good choice of locally sourced food to suit everyone and was freshly cooked.

The staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

The location is brilliant as it's only about a 10 minute walk to Ambleside and a 10 minute walk the other way to watergate bay to get the ferry over to Bowness on Windermere. Also there is a bus stop outside so we bought a day ticket for the south lakes one day and visited a few different places including Grasmere. It was lovely not having to find parking.

All in all we had a really great stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank satMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent hotel all round. It was our 12 week old baby boy's first mini break so we were looking forward to taking him to the Lakes for five days. The Fisherbeck was ideal. We had room 14 which was one of the out door rooms which was ideal for a young family. Very comfortable and spacious. Rare off street parking although a little tight but no drama. Ray and his wife could not do more for us. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The breakfast was excellent. Of course everyone has to say a couple of negative things........ the bed was too soft and the sausages at breakfast would be nicer if they were traditional pork sausages! Nice selection to choose from though.

It was my birthday on the Bank Holiday MOnday and the staff had left a small bottle of champagne for me (with two glasses)
Nice and central and a good base if you wish to explore the surrounding towns and villages.

Could not fault this place and we will definitely return soon. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have young children the garden rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricky250873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent accommodation here at the moment ,we where here this time last year. Staying in the garden room very spacious and clean ,with a very large bathroom and shower with lovely fluffy towels. Staff can't do more for you, the breakfast is excellent quality food all in all highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden room or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful grounds and stunning views over the fells. Really friendly staff. This B&B has lots to offer, the choice for breakfast was great, something for everyone, it isn't served too early either. They do snacks and packed lunches and bar drinks in the lovely lounge. The bus stop is right outside for getting around and it's perfect distance for walking to Lake Windermere or to Ambleside town. It is opposite one of the best restaurants in town too, The Log House. The room I had was modern with a lovely huge bath, perfect after a days walking.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views, they also have little apartments that can be rented weekly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent room and facilities. Clean and modern everything you would want. Staff friendly and polite. We chose room 4 very quiet and no stairs. Breakfast was served efficiently and had excellent choice. The walk to the center of Ambleside is only a couple of minutes and is all flat walking. Definitely better then the hotels in the town center. Will return soon

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank raintonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing