We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
473
129
31
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
473
129
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room filtered water spa bath porridge lake district smoked haddock mr and mrs car park breakfast menu breakfast was excellent breakfast staff high standard family room lovely bathroom self catering a lovely stay single room
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The Fisherbeck was so good on our previous stays that we stayed 3 nights this time - even more time to thoroughly enjoy the wonderful comfort in our room (spa bath, under-floor heating, lovely bed, décor, balcony and views), the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and the superb breakfasts. Add to this the fantastic car parking facilities, the numerous stunning walks from the door and the proximity to the centre of Ambleside and you couldn't wish for anything more. Looking forward to returning in 2018. In the meantime, we hope that the owners and all the staff have a very relaxing and enjoyable Christmas break.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happy4u23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you very much indeed for writing your review and I do apologise for the delay in responding. We closed for a short winter break just after your stay and I did not keep up with correspondence. But in regard to your good wishes we did indeed have a very relaxing & enjoyable Christmas break, as did all of our staff and we are now re-opened and re-energized for the 2018 season. We sincerely hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to The Fisherbeck. We look forward to it. Kind regards. Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Once again we stayed at lovely Ralston for our annual visit for the light switch on.
The house was perfect as usual, a really lovely place to stay!! The house is so warm and cosy after spending the evening watching the parade and fireworks. We all had a spectacular weekend. Unfortunately we are unable to book for the full week next year due to our children being in school. Therefore,this unfortunately leaves us having to search out a new venue. ☹️We have throughly enjoyed our time using this house though. Highly recommended x

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Monkeypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it. Ralston has proved to be a very popular self catering property and its central location makes it an ideal place for a visit to Ambleside. Perhaps instead of staying in Ralston next year you could think of being with us at The Fisherbeck. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards to you all and a Very Merry Christmas. Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed here for three nights in the first week of December 2017. We had room 20 which is on the second floor at the rear of the property and which features a spa bath with a shower over. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable, with a view over a neighbour's garden with a spectacular chainsaw carving to the fell beyond.
The staff were very welcoming and the attention to detail was second to none. We were asked about our preference for milk on arrival, and were provided with our preferred semi skimmed throughout out stay. The breakfast choice was excellent and it was cooked to perfection each day, and requests to swap black pudding for beans/fried bread and my request for my breakfast to be well done were accommodated without any fuss.

The hotel is well located with its own parking and a bus stop directly outside. It's just a short walk from Ambleside's main street with many dining options, cafes and pubs. In summary We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for one of the garden rooms. There is no lift and all the other rooms are on either the first or second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janwatts2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your very complimentary and comprehensive review. It is much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you might consider being with us again. We certainly hope so. It would be a pleasure welcoming you back. May we also take this opportunity of wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. With kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Again a lovely welcoming stay at the Fisherbeck. Very warm and comfortable rooms with clean stylish furnishings.
Lovely breakfast. Loved the porridge & accompaniments.

Only gripe is we booked a double room. Expected a double bed. We got two singles pushed together one slightly lower than the other . Oh and the loo needs a toilet brush popping in there.

Otherwise a great stay. Yes we will stay again and will be in the near future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and trust you thoroughly enjoyed your birthday surprise. We do actually have 3 rooms which can be twin bedded or have a super king size double as they are specially designed zip and link beds which are always very popular. I would love to know which of these rooms you stayed in but we will take a look at them all to see if there is something which needs adjusting. And we did take an executive decision many years ago not to put toilet brushes in any of our bedrooms. We consider them to be germ hogs and as rooms are cleaned daily our bevvy of housekeepers use ones that are washed and steeped in disinfectant over night for extra hygiene. But we will reconsider this again. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year and we look forward to seeing you again soon. With very kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Oct half term. The hotel overall is excellent. It has plenty of off-road parking for your car and is within a 10 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside. Our room was a good size and looked recently decorated with modern furniture. One of the best bits was the breakfast. None of the usual buffet style breakfasts but a full waitress service with an extensive and daily changing menu. Food was cooked to order and was excellent. All staff we met were courteous and friendly. Overall a really nice stay and my wife and I would be delighted to stay there again. Many thanks to all at the Fisherbeck.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Mr Sanderson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Fisherbeck. Cooking breakfast every day, I was most pleased that you made the comments that you did. At least with a cooked-to-order breakfast you get what you want, when you want and nice and hot. We do indeed hope you will return to us in the not too distant future. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews