We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet but no wash out”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Despite wintry weather - snow and sleet, the customary warmth of Gillian and Ray's team made our three day visit a treat. We stayed in a basic room which has been cleverly refurbished to provide warm and stylish accommodation in a restricted space. (See photos) We were able to relax in the comfort of the Fisherbeck and feel at home as we always do. We cannot recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

This was our sixth visit to the Fisherbeck and once again Gillian, Ray and their team ensured we enjoyed a memorable Spring break. The breakfast choice and quality would be hard to beat as would the view of Loughrigg Fell from our room. We have recommended the Fisherbeck to our friends and they have told us how much they have enjoyed their stays there. Ambleside has a good selection of restaurants and the famous Zeferellis Cinema all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Fox_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Wonderful clean and very recently refurbished rooms, incorporating a spa bath. The choice at breakfast is superb and caters for all tastes. Very helpful and informative hosts in Gillian and Raymond, who are always willing to offer advice on the best places to eat in the village of Ambleside. They also offer very reasonably priced light meals served in the recently refurbished residents lounge and an extensive selection of local beers, single malts and good quality wines. There is more than adequate parking space and all set in the most beautiful part of England. Worth going just for the superb breakfasts

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poorwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

OK, not my first visit, nor my first great review. I suspect that Ray & Gill hardly need any more praise to keep the place buzzing but another memorable visit of 4 nights in Spring has just flown by. I really do recommend the porridge with whisky soaked sultanas, followed by the exquisite smoked haddock. With this on board, one needs little more than emergency rations to get through a good day on the fells until dinner. Perhaps the most important feature is the seemingly unlimited piping hot water for the essential bath.
Having done 20 years in a service business not a lot different from B&B/Hotel, I can empathise with every aspect and I have seldom come across people who do it better.

In case you might think being 5 minutes walk out of town is an issue - take this on board - after a decent dinner in town, the walk home is very settling. We are back in September if not before. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normanstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This bed and breakfast hotel was warm and comfortable on a chilly but sunny weekend in March. It is a five minute walk from the centre of Ambleside, with fell views. The room we had was of a good standard and recently decorated. The owners are very hospitable and welcoming, willing to help with any queries that we had. [they printed off the local walking /weather forecast for me] The breakfast was excellent. There was a very good choice of breakfasts to accomodate all tastes, perfectly cooked, and pleasantly served. We took advantage of the winter 3 nights for 2 offer, which also made it very good value. I have no hesitation in recommending this homely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We were lucky enough to visit the Fisherbeck again this year.

We've already had a fabulous stay in Woodside Cottage attached to the hotel when it first opened. Modern chic decor ~ quite a refreshing change for the Lakes.

There has been further refurbishment with stunning and comfy lounge areas as well glass fronted balconies with uninterrupted views of the hills. We really liked the refurbished wing with natural tones, large beds and fantastic bathrooms.

Clean, modern and friendly ~ fantastic. Can't wait to go again sometime. They're advertising two new properties for rent so we'll be spoilt for choice!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

First of all we need to thank my sister and brother-in-law Karen and Pete for sending us to stay at the Fisherbeck! It was a present for our blossoming relationship as they couldn't make the trip themselves, and bless them for thinking of us. What a gem of a hotel/guesthouse the Fisherbeck is!
As soon as we stepped into the reception area all our stresses and strains melted away. The atmosphere is so relaxing that we defy anyone to stay uptight for long!
We stayed in one of the garden rooms - initially for one night - which was divine, with a bathroom to die for ........ it was a fight to see who got the bath and who got the shower, as each were sublime!
Needless to say, one night was not enough, and our host offered us a three night deal, with the offer of a packed breakfast for our early start on the Monday ...... we took this offer up with alacrity.
The service, accomodation and food were top of the range, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
We will be visiting this little peice of heaven again in the not too distant future, and look forward to relaxing in the warmth and comfort of The Fisherbeck.
Jan Dickinson & Ian Jackson :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkdru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £70 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing