We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perefect”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I wanted peace calm and a central location. I got all three. The hotel, and my room in particular, which was situate in the new 'stable' type block was excellent. New, modern, spotlessly clean, wonderful features and the most comfortable bed.

Sitting outside on the small terrace was idylic, with the sun shining on me in all afternoon/evening.

Nothing was too much trouble. Tea, coffee, something stronger, always available.

Breakfast was delicious and perfectly prepared. The porridge was excellent, a wonderful choice of 'starters' and 'main' courses.

The walk into Ambleside was a pleasant short stroll.

All in all, an excellent weekend, at an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemorleycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

Only a 5 minute amble to the centre of Ambleside, the Fisherbeck is in an excellent location and has plenty of parking. We had a top floor room with a great view of the fell. Even the busy A591 didn't spoil things.

The hotel is pleasantly decorated and our room was comfortable, although the shower room and separate toilet were small. Shame the room didn't have a bath which would have been most welcome after a day fell walking. The complimentary toiletries were top quality but the shower could have done with being more powerful. An easy improvement to the room would be to put in black out curtains - the current ones let in far too much light.

The receptionist who checked us in was very helpful, offering to book any restaurant in the town for us. I couldn't fault the breakfast staff, they were all friendly and efficient. The breakfast itself was good - all cooked to order. I recommend the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. The full english was slightly disappointing as the quality of the black pudding and sausage let it down, but I admit I am really nitpicking saying that.

It's clear the owner keeps a tight ship: the breakfast service runs very smoothly. I could have done without hearing him telling off one of the staff for nothing while we ate breakfast. If he really felt it necessary to crack the managerial whip, he should have done it in private and not within earshot of guests.

The Fisherbeck has a licensed bar and the seating outside made it nice to have a drink before going out as well as having a nightcap. We didn't have any of the bar snacks but they did sound tasty.

Despite the bar and food on offer, I wouldn't describe the Fisherbeck as a hotel. It doesn't have an evening restaurant or other facilities you would expect from a hotel. But it is a very good guest house.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. My one word of caution is that it does seem a little overpriced: £10 to £15 less a night would be more realistic. That said, we did stay during half-term which is bound to affect the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

the staff where wounderful and polite and helpfull, the owners were friendly and approachable. would recommend for anyone, a bit pricey, but got told by owner to book double next time as son slept in travel cot and will when return in september!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was brilliant with a kingsize bed, double ended bath and a walk in shower. The room was spotless and very warm, this was a bonus as during our stay it seemed to rain all the time. The water was very hot and this was very welcome after a long walk in the rain over the fells. The location is very good, you can leave your car at the hotel and its only a 10 walk into the centre of Ambleside.
I would recommend Jade Garden and Ambles to eat, both had very good service. Ambles used all local produce and once again the staff were wonderful. I would however advise to stay clear of Queens Hotel, said they used local produce but my pie tasted like it had been in a microwave and my partner food was very poor quality.
The breakfast at the Fisherbeck are brilliant, but its not a time to be on a diet. Its very hard to say no to fresh baked muffins ect....
I can't wait to stay here again and hopefully with some dry weather.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We were lucky to choose this B & B on it's location to town. The minute I walked into the beautifully decorated room with it's little balcony basking in the afternoon sunshine I knew we would enjoy our stay. I had inspected 6 previous B & Bs but this one stood out. Service exceptional, food at breakfast was outstanding and the waitresses lovely (although some limited English) they did everything to help. The receptionists went out of their way with directions, drawing maps, tips on where to go.
We have already sent emails to Australia recommending to our friends if they go to Ambleside. One tip, bring your own hairdryer as the one supplied while efficient is not strong enough for really thick hair.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarronsSydney_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We were let down by another hotel in Ambleside at 4.30 on Good Friday afternoon. When the Tourist Information found us rooms at Fisherbeck, we were glad just to have a roof over our heads. However, the hotel proved excellent in every respect - lovely rooms (I can certainly recommend one of the newly refurbished suites - room 11 - real luxury). Breakfast was a highlight too - no self service buffet here - but a three course feast. More than enough to set the most energetic walker up for the day.

We enjoyed our brief stay so much, we have booked one of the Fisherbeck's self catering cottages for a family holiday in August - can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Despite wintry weather - snow and sleet, the customary warmth of Gillian and Ray's team made our three day visit a treat. We stayed in a basic room which has been cleverly refurbished to provide warm and stylish accommodation in a restricted space. (See photos) We were able to relax in the comfort of the Fisherbeck and feel at home as we always do. We cannot recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing