We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned and dirty”
Review of Cherry Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Garth
Ranked #99 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2012

we stayed here from 6 till 10 august 2012 ,no way four star ,parking great ,entrance hall ,dining area lovely ,beyond that terrible,rooms 10 and our daughter in room 6 ,we took photos of room 10,stained bedding,stained carpets grubby furniture smelly shower curtain ,paper peeling of walls ,who cleans this place ,it took my husband 30 mins to have a shower ,drip drip drip,yes we complained and were told they'd never had a complaint before ,we told the owners we were leaving if not moved ,we were given room 11 on ground floor the deluxe (?) twenty per cent better,but the whole place is tired and needs major updating ,if you read the guest book from years ago this place hasn't changed ,we were told work was on going ,also toilet paper stuffed in holes in bedroom ceiling ,why? breakfast was good ,as much as you like ,it's a shame that it is so dreary,the actual house is huge could be made beautiful , we've stayed in three star in the lakes much superior to this ,we won't be going back ,when we said bathroom door would not shut ,we were told 'we dont usually shut doors!' ok but perhaps guests do ! Watch this space for photos!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Cherry Garth is very handy to walk into Ambleside and Waterhead. The free parking was also a bonus. I do have to say though that the house does need updated and freshened up. The room we stayed in felt tired (excuse the pun) - the bedding was old and pictures/mirror etc were past their best. The bathroom door was pretty dirty, the jacuzzi bath didnt work and the grouting around the bath should have been re-done long ago. This would not take much to bring it up to its supposed 4* rating. These things didnt ruin our holiday but at the moment it would be difficult to recommend it. Such a pity as it really is a great location and has such potential. Sorry for what seems a very negative report but you should be offering the very best you can.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a superior double isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed just the one night, and had a great time. We felt very welcomed, and the room was brilliant, we paid for a superior double and got the deluxe it was a lovely room with a big window and great views to boot.

The hosts were very friendly at check in/out and breakfast. Some others have commented on the quality of the breakfast, but i thought it was very good, not huge portions but enough and very nice, especially the sausage, and i am fussy.

It is about a five minute walk into Ambleside and the parking outside the B&B is great.

Many thanks
HEC

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

cherry garth is in a great location, perfectly positioned for touring lake district.....but seriously needs some updating. We stayed in Room 6. THE ATTIC. It was a "climb" up to it. Crazy amount of stairs. Not suitable for anybody with a bad heart, bad legs, etc. Clean room. Comfortable enough. Had to stand to look out of skylight. Asked to change room but unable to be facilitated. The bathroom was very very basic. Toilet roll holder fell off wall and the toilet seat would take a bite out of you. Horrible shower mat was handed to us which we had to ask for. Shower was dreadful. Hot or cold? And a carpet on the bathroom floor in this day and age?? Very Very basic. It felt a bit 50's B&B but food though was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharbar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Great location, room OK size, nice and clean. Shower not great, could do with updating. Breakfast was OK but not great they need to think about the bacon/sausage/black pudding they use.
But if you don't care about this sort of thing it was fine.
I would stay again which is always the most important thing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Had a fab time here. Ambleside is beautiful and well worth a visit. Cherry garth was very good value for money (especially with the buyagift vouchers).
The room was clean and tidy and quite pleasant (we were in the top attic room with skylight). The bathroom was pretty basic (shower was a hand attachment which you had to hold) but did not effect our stay.
Breakfast was very good and the sisters (and father) could not do enough to help. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb5edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Run by two sisters, nothing is too much trouble, the breakfasts were wonderful with plenty of choice, the rooms, although a little dated aRe clean and comfortable. I was on the ground floor overlooking the front lawn, the view across the mountains was spectacular. Situated just outside Ambleside town centre, very close to Hayes Garden Centre (which is a must visit!) and there is also parking at the front. Recommended, I'm going back in the Autumn

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovecrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
4 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#9 of 23 in Hawkshead
355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing