We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of Cherry Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Garth
Ranked #100 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends for the weekend. Lovely guest house just a few minutes walk into the centre of Ambleside. Our room had a four poster bed and pretty views out on to the garden and beyond.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Made very welcome and the room was clean but basic. The bathroom had a bath with a hand held shower head. Although the water was hot, the bath took a long time to fill. The decor was dated. The breakfast was very basic and although there was a choice of cereal, fruit juice and cooked breakfast, we felt that it was all provided on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely break staying at Cherrygarth,we have stayed many times and have always enjoyed our stay,the rooms are spotless,the beds are clean and cmfortable with fantastic views. The owners are very welcoming and friendly( Viv and Amy ) At breakfast you will find a good selection to choose from all cooked to order.It is convenient for walking into Ambleside( about 5 minutes) which is ideal for your evenings out. We will be staying again and again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Room 23 has a juccusi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiecleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just spent two night groupon break (24-26th March). Lovely family run hotel, staff very polite and friendly without being intrusive. We had the top floor twin room, good size very warm, beautiful views, beds clean & comfy, great views. Tv with all channels, tea & coffee facilities. Ensuite good size, plenty of clean towels. Housekeeping cleaned our room each morning.
Breakfast was plentiful, good choice cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit ,fruit juice etc, plus cooked breakfast of basically any combination you want. Service was quick, food hot and that was every table occupied.
Best of all no tv blaring away in the breakfast room, however the usual mobiles bleeping every few seconds with the usual people heads down communicating on fb etc, rather than the human opposite!!
Great location a few minutes stroll into centre of Ambelside which is beautiful, we walked into Windemere about four miles, nice walk but there is a regular bus service to. If there, visit the Italia coffee house, open til 11pm we sat outside with lovely hot coffee and the heaters on it was great after the walk, the prices are very reasonable.
If truth be told the hotel could really do with a refurbishment, but I dont spend enough time in a hotel to bother with that, cleanliness is really what I look for and I had no complaint there.
Only niggle I had is....if you have a aquarium the it needs to be sparkling clean well lit and a feature, the one in the breakfast lounge either replace it or ditch it, because it has seen its day and apart from that clearly needs cleaned. Small niggle thats all! Will defo return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a friends wedding at a larger hotel in Ambleside. The rooms are spacious, clean & very comfortable (mine had four-poster bed & chandelier!) yet the hotel feels very homely & the staff are very friendly & welcoming.

The breakfasts are wonderful with a great choice of home cooked wholesome options that would set anyone up for the day, whether you're there for a walking trip or something more leisurely.

The b&b prices are very reasonable (hence me choosing to stay here rather than at the wedding venue itself)

Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends & family & if I'm ever back in the Lakes will be back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank BestieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a 2 night break at The Cherry Garth and were very impressed! The rooms were lovely with good guest information and our top floor room had a beautiful view. The free parking is great and the location means you are only about 10 minutes from Ambleside which is fantastic. We went for dinner in a restaurant recommended by the owners and this was amazing!!!
The breakfast was nice with a good selection and the owners were very warm and welcoming. Although this was our first visit to the Lake district it certainly won't be our last and we would love to stay at Cherry Garth again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were very pleased, we had a small double which was really nice with an en suite. There was an authentic stone wall in the room and we could even see mountains out of the window. The owner also has two rabbits, one of which we saw - very cute!
They have gone to a lot of trouble to give you good local info on restaurants and things to do. Also readily available print outs to take away of walking routes. It is very close to the town centre, a 5 minute walk.
Breakfast was very nice, not knock you off your feet nice but perfectly acceptable, I would e happy to eat it again!
The only thing that let it down for me was when we had checked out (earlier than required) we put our bags in the car etc and I needed to use the bathroom before we got on our way, but I wasn't allowed to use any of the loos! So I had to walk to the nearby petrol station!
But apart from that it was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I must however add that as we are a guest house we do not have a toilet available for public use. All our rooms are ensuite so guests have their own private facilities. Check out is by 11am so if you wanted to come back and use your room before then you could have waited to check out until 11am. Then we would not have serviced the room ready for the next guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing