We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast waiting time”
Review of Cherry Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Garth
Ranked #99 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast waiting time”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The room we stayed in was lovely, clean and bright, nice bathroom/ shower, and the hotel is situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Ambleside. Thats the positive....

On the negative side if you enjoy a full English breakfast prepare yourself for a long wait. The breakfast window is between 8.00am and 9.00am, we got down for breakfast on day one for just after 8.00am we didn't eat till 30 minutes later, tea and toast took ten minutes at least, and then the main breakfast arrived 20 minutes later. Which was enjoyable. Don't know about you but I like to have toast with my breakfast, not staggered.
There was one waitress/receptionist/room cleaner, doing all the jobs. They should invest in a hot water urn, and a toaster in the breakfast room so guests can take the pressure off the single waitress and she can concentrate on getting the breakfasts out to customers, or heres another idea employ another waiter/waitress when the hotel is full, which it was while we where there, and or start breakfast from 7.00am till 10.30am then everybody wont be rushing down to be fed in that single hour. For that reason we wont be going back to this hotel, unless breakfast times and breakfasts schedules improve, our money will be spent elsewhere on another establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

Over the past 10 years we have tried many different breakfast times and by far the most popular time if between 8 and 9am. Every Christmas we extend our breakfast time but 99% of people still come down between 8 and 9am.

As all breakfast are cooked specifically to order they take an average of 10-15 minutes to cook. I am sorry if you waited longer.

Some people like to completely finish their toast before they get their cooked breakfast and some like to have everything piled on their table at once. It is a matter of preference and I am sorry that you didn't get breakfast served as you liked.

I hope that you can find somewhere in the Lakes to suit your needs so that you can still enjoy our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    58
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
14
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for my Hubbys birthday.17/07/14. We paid £80 for standard double in the eaves .Amazing views. However room 8 was very tired looking , three sets of double wall lights, crooked double socket with a 3 way adapter plug attached to it, very ugly.You could not sit up in bed due to the slope of the roof. The bathroom needed an upgrade, shower attachment over the bath trickled, gave up in the end also floor and skirtings need a good clean.
Pictures around the walls very strange , racing cars ,planes and Provence, The breakfast served was very nice but the tablecloth was stained from day before.Lounge settee in Dining room awful and tired again.The meet and great was excellent . Feel quite disappointed with visit to Cherry Garth.

Room Tip: Do checkout rooms in detail before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

As the room that you were staying in has a sloping ceiling the best lighting is wall lights. I am sorry if it was not to your taste.

We try to use plug adapters wherever we can so that there are as many empty sockets as possible for guests to use. I always find when I go on holiday that there are not enough plugs for all the modern devices and electrical equipment so we try to make as many as possible available here. Apologies if you felt it was unsightly but I am afraid that it is very practical.

I am sorry that you had difficulty sitting up in the bed. If you had mentioned this we could have seen if there was another room available for you.

We have been notified since your stay of the bent shower hose in that room and it was changed immediately. It is flowing freely now.

I am sorry that you didn't like our pictures around the house. These are our personal pictures and they are just ones that we like. We have always been fans of Formula One and have some classic pictures of older racers on the top floor. We have aircraft pictures in the dining room as we like all the aircraft we get flying across the Lake District. They are all our personal pictures and we like them.

We get a lot of positive comments about the size and brightness of our breakfast room so I am sorry that you were disappointed with it.

I hope that you can find somewhere in the Lakes that suits your needs and tastes so that you can still enjoy our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for a weekend as a gift from our daughters. Arrived and check in was prompt, we had room 8, which was on the second floor. The room was a decent size, if not a little dated, but was very clean. The bed was lovely and comfy and had an extremely good and quiet sleep. The en suite bathroom was adequate size with a bath and a hand held shower, which for us was not ideal as we only take showers and my husband had to kneel to shower. The hotel is dog friendly and welcomed our dog for the weekend. This hotel is ideal location either to the lake or the centre of Ambleside, approx 10 minute walks either way, and has ample parking for cars.

Room Tip: Possibly try to upgrade to a superior room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here 21/06/2014 in the so called Superior room no. 5, with four poster bed more like a make shift 4x2 frame that was very wobbly. The cost £102 a night we had no water for a bath or shower due to plumbing probs. No other alternative as all rooms full. My partner had to fill the kettle time and time again for a bath. The so called bar they provide as stated consists of alcohol being poured in the back kitchen not knowing what you are getting or what the measures are. We were told there would be no more serving of alcohol at 21.15pm then when I asked for another drink at 21.30pm was sold some and told yet again the same so not much of a service. Was given a £22 refund due to not having any bathing facilities yet I have stayed in far superior and modern b and b`s for £80. The lounge consists of a sofa stuck in the dining area all of which is very dated. The management certainly need to have a lesson in customer service maybe try smiling at guests on arrival would help. We do a lot of travelling and have stayed in many places this certainly has to be the worst, so bad we didn't even stay for breakfast so cant comment on that. Certainly wont be back

Room Tip: Don't choose the superior rooms with four poster as there is nothing superior about them .Very o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I apologise again for your hot bath tap not working during your stay. We tried our best to fix it but I am afraid that we are not plumbers. Most people would appreciate that we were unable to get a plumber to come out to fix it at 10pm. Therefore, as you stated, we gave you a discount for the inconvenience this caused you.

We do not advertise that we have a bar, but we are licensed. All our alcohol is branded and is poured in the kitchen - within plain site of where you stood at the Reception desk. The measures we use are the normal size and you could have enquired if you wished to know the precise size.

We reserve the right to refuse to serve alcohol to anyone, at any time of the day. I told you that I would only serve you one more round, as I duly did. After that I refused to serve you any more alcohol. Perhaps you don't remember the conversation.

We don't have the room to have a separate lounge but we are able to fit a sofa into the window area of the breakfast room. This is used at all times of the day for many different reasons. Guests can also use the seating outside on the lawn.

I am sorry that you didn't like our guest house, decor or family. I do hope that you will be able to find somewhere in the area to suit your budget and needs so that you can still enjoy our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for the second time with my girlfriend for three nights.

The room was clean and tidy with hot drinks on offer, free view and en-suite. The breakfasts were lovely with plenty of options.

We took bikes which Cherry Garth had secure storage for.

The only negative I would say, the place could do with a little face lift, the bathroom in our room was clean and tidy, however there was zero pressure in the shower which was disappointing after a day of riding & walking.

Room Tip: Do not use room 9 if you like a nice shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A lovely friendly guest house, right near the centre . Typical room decor. A little dated but that's what you want/expect in the Lake District. Breakfast more than ample and excellent choice. Very quiet even though it was on the main road. Ideal for walkers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianjaynehilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having been bought a voucher for a night away as a birthday present I chose the Cherry Garth in Ambleside in which to spend the night and what a good choice it was. The hotel was very clean and so were the bedrooms which were very spacious with plenty of clean towels and Tea and Coffee facilities. We were treated very well from booking the room to our arriving at the hotel with very friendly staff. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Ambleside where you find a variety of pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets within a short distance of each other. The breakfast the following day at the hotel was plentiful with a great variety of fresh fruit yogurt and cereals to full cooked breakfasts which were well presented and served very quickly. The hotel is well situated for the rest of the Lake District which I had forgotten how beautiful it was. I would agree that the hotel requires a little TLC and decorating and the WIFI needs updating

Room Tip: The restaurants get very busy so if you can book in advance unless you are prepared to wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryGarth, Owner at Cherry Garth, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#36 of 103 in Ambleside
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Property: Cherry Garth
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing