We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bed and breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsdale in Ambleside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Ranked #5 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bed and breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Hillsdale for three nights starting 23rd May. Lovely friendly atmosphere at breakfast in the mornings and very helpful staff. Food good especially the tea and toast we were served in our room after capsizing our canoe in Lake Windermere! Private secure parking close by and very convenient for pubs and restaurants! Great time had by all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    61
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
453
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fantastic B&B in a great location for exploring the lakes right in the centre of Ambleside. Room was gorgeous with lovely decor, stunning en suite, comfy bed and large flat screen tv. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room replenished each day which was lovely to look forward to after a day on the fells.

Lovely hot breakfast cooked to order as well as cereals, juice and fruit. Private gated parking just down the road too which was a great bonus.

Shops , pubs and restaurants literally 50 yards away - we ate in Ambleside every night it has some great places including a handy tesco express for essentials.

Hillsdale was absolutely brilliant and great value. We will definitely be back and recommending to everyone we know.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djcr_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our 2nd wedding anniversary on 22nd May stayed at Hillsdale first class room , so
clean and comfy. Large comfortable bed, hairdyer, heater and large flat screen tv.
safe secure offroad parking
best breakfast ever with friendly cheerful service! Well done

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Myself and my husband have just spent a fabulous long weekend in staying at Hillsdale in Ambleside. Superbly located, clean and very comfortable. Although the owners were on holiday, we were looked after exceptionally well by the lovely Dorothy, who ensured we had everything we need during our stay. Breakfast was fabulous, making good use of local produce, and it was lovely to be catered for as gluten free.
Free parking was a huge bonus as parking is expensive in Ambleside. Would definitely return next time we head to the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinglife1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

spent 2 nights at Hillsdale brilliant accommodation,Lindsey and George are so welcoming,& knowledgeable the food is the best & done to perfection parking is also free rooms are spotless tidy & clean you just can,t go wrong .
thank you carole and ray

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the May day Bank holiday. George & Lindsey were at the reception ready to give a warm welcome. A quick efficient check in directions to the parking & we were all set for the weekend.
The room was lovely and had lots of lovely little touches that not only made you feel welcome, but had obviously been well thought out. We were in room one on the 1st floor. Nothing to fault at all. Very clean, lovely fluffy towels , tea & coffee & bottled water, just to mention a few of the extra's. The only thing if I were to have a gripe is that we are used to sleeping in a very dark room and although there was blinds and curtains the room was light quite early in the morning. Despite saying this, it is only a personal thing and it did not effect our stay at the accommodation
Breakfast was a hearty affair and set you up for the day. We had gone to Ambleside to walk, so the breakfast kept us going well into the late afternoon.
George was always on hand giving table service and always made time to speak to everyone, helping out with any information you needed about the local area.
Centrally placed and within a few minutes from the numerous bars and restaurants in Ambleside.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we have booked again for my husbands birthday in August and are taking some friends along.

See you soon George & Lindsey :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 3 days at this b&b and were very impressed with the high standard of accommodation.

Everything provided for the stay,including corkscrew and glasses in the room (byo)

Lindsey and George were very welcoming and knowledgeable nothing was too mutch trouble

We will return!!

Room Tip: room 2 great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#9 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.3 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale in Ambleside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale in Ambleside

Property: Hillsdale in Ambleside
Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillsdale in Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Visit Britain 4*Bed and Breakfast property, with free off-road parking for each room, is conveniently situated in Ambleside town centre in the very heart of the English Lake District, Wainwright's Walking Country. The beautiful waters of Windermere, Rydal and Grasmere are within easy walking distance as are the historic homes of Wordsworth, Ruskin and Beatrix Potter. Each room has been individually styled - as the B&B has been created from an original Lakeland Stone townhouse, so typical of Ambleside, no room is the same shape or size, but we hope that each one is as comfortable, attractive and pleasing as the next! All rooms have either a double or king sized bed, newly refurbished en-suite shower room and flat screen TV. Hospitality trays, hairdryers, wine glasses and corkscrew come as standard. Free wi-fi is available. Prices include a selection of breakfast choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hillsdale in Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale In Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
Hillsdale In Ambleside Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing