We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the heart of Ambleside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Ranked #9 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I am not wondering why this hotel has lots of good comments below. I would like to confirm that all the good comments are true. Warm welcome from the first step in where I feel like a home. The rooms are good size , well designed especially comfy bed. The Bathroom was very good and big. Everything is perfect. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

What can we say other than repeat previous comments. This is still for us one of the best B&B's around.
It was a particularly special time for us with my 60th only a few weeks before and George and Lyndsay made it a memorable and enjoyable experience as always.
Looking forward to next trip.
Mick + Trish, Bridlington

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment we walked up the path, we just knew we would enjoy our stay here. The decor is just lovely, quite modern and very fragrant and as we made our way up to our room we knew we had made a good choice. Everything about our stay was positive, from the comfy bed, lovely shower room, yummy breakfast and the little extras in the room.

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and we would definately stay here again if we are back in the Lake District.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Hillsdale last week, its the 3rd time we've stayed there in the past 3 years and it's very likely we will return again next year. Ambleside is a good spot with loads to do and we can't fault the Hillsdale; perfect location, off road parking, safe and secure. George and Lindsey are so friendly and will give you great advice on walks, activities and restaurants. Rooms are lovely; all nicely decorated, comfy and spotless. For breakfast help yourself to cereals and fresh tropical fruit and then a cooked meal with continuous delivery of fresh toast. 10/10. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay at Hillsdale during Whit week. The owners were away but that did not detract from the experience because they had entrusted running to Dorothy who was a credit to their trust. Great breakfast. Great room. Great location. We would have no hesitation in returning again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P4RXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I have just returned from enjoying the best weekend in Ambleside. Fantastic B &B, in a great location. Room was gorgeous, with a stunning en suite and we also had amazing views of the fells, The private secure parking was a huge bonus. Breakfast was lovely, and served by very friendly staff. We would highly recommend this really lovely B & B, we will look forward to our next visit. Thank you! :-)

Room Tip: Room 7 had a fabulous En suite bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onslow165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over the Whit holiday. Had a lovely time. The B&B is very clean, the decor is lovely and nothing was too much trouble for Dorothy and the other staff.
The breakfast was good quality and nicely cooked, with a good choice of cereals and fruit.
Thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smithe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#18 of 102 in Ambleside
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#19 of 102 in Ambleside
603 reviews
0 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale in Ambleside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale in Ambleside

Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £91 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillsdale in Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Visit Britain 4*Bed and Breakfast property, with free off-road parking for each room, is conveniently situated in Ambleside town centre in the very heart of the English Lake District, Wainwright's Walking Country. The beautiful waters of Windermere, Rydal and Grasmere are within easy walking distance as are the historic homes of Wordsworth, Ruskin and Beatrix Potter. Each room has been individually styled - as the B&B has been created from an original Lakeland Stone townhouse, so typical of Ambleside, no room is the same shape or size, but we hope that each one is as comfortable, attractive and pleasing as the next! All rooms have either a double or king sized bed, newly refurbished en-suite shower room and flat screen TV. Hospitality trays, hairdryers, wine glasses and corkscrew come as standard. Free wi-fi is available. Prices include a selection of breakfast choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hillsdale in Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale In Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
Hillsdale In Ambleside Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing