We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT VISIT TO THE UNITED STATES OF AMBLESIDE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #10 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“AN EXCELLENT VISIT TO THE UNITED STATES OF AMBLESIDE”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Having seen Compston house with Sue and Jerry on the ITV prog 'The Lakes' we decided to take a look at the website and we didn't need to look any further. We expected it to be good but what we got was a lot better than good with Sue and Jerry as our hosts.
The breakfast was outstanding with our plates piled high we didn't need anything to eat all day and our room (Maine) was very clean and comfortable.
It is in an excellent place as a base to visit the Lake District.
We will definitely come back to stay at Compston House again........soon.
Only one complaint, Sue makes better pancakes and sweet eggy bread than i do.
All in all a perfect few days away at very reasonable prices.
Thank you Sue and Jerry from Tracy and Stuart

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-N-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
721
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was a last minute decision for us, but one that we were pleased we had made

A real welcome treat with our hosts just wanting to make sure that every visitor had a great time (& had a full breakfast - US style!)

The rooms decor, was, erm, unique with a US town theme to each one, which raised a smile, but made you feel at home.

The location is simply superb, being right at the edge of town, even though on a corner, off road parking is available just a few yard from the front door.

Like everyone who has stayed here I have to comment on Sue's breakfasts - simply massive! adn very very nice - I tried everything whilst we were there !

As for the pancakes, you will not be able (or allowed) to say No! - you simply have to try them - and I am sure they grow as the days go on

Wonderful hosts and a big thank you for the hospitality

We hope to be back again - if we can get a room

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked three nights at Compston House as a base for a few days walking in the Lakes and so glad we chose this establishment. Sue and Jerry are excellent hosts , nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in, the Hawaii room, was large very clean, comfortable and quiet, the breakfasts are amazing ( just make sure you take elasticated waist clothes with you as you will need them). The house itself has a warm welcoming atmosphere especially after a long trek through the fells in the rain, its a pleasure to come back to. It is in a very central position in Ambleside and within a few minutes walk of many restuarants and pubs ( would highly recommend Dodds restaurant for both the service and the gorgeous food ). it is very rare that we book the same place twice as we tend to like to try different places for our short breaks, Ambleside and in particular Compston House, ( and Sue and Jerry) have made this the exception to the rule for us as we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Our time with Sue & Jerry was really "First Class" they were the perfect hosts. Our room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the dining room. Each bedroom is
nicely decorated to reflect the American States ours was Hawaii !!

Breakfast each day is a really fun expereience, Jerry has a great personality and is very
helpful and efficient. There is a great choice and each element is beautifully cooked and
presented by Sue.

I have no hesitation in recommending Compston House for a weekend or longer stay
and feel sure that when in the area we would be happy to book with Sue & Jerrry again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbiebbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

On arrival we were greeted by Jerry & Sue and made to feel very welcome from the start.

Our rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. The welcome tea tray had a choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits etc. The bathroom had both bath and hand towels and complimentary toiletries. Every day clean towels was placed in the bathroom and the tea tray refilled with what you'd used - most welcome after a long walk.

You can choose from an extensive breakfast list - the pancakes being especially nice, served with a lovely thick maple syrup. Our son doesn't like tea or coffee and so Jerry kept his glass full of orange juice which was very much appreciated.

Our only critisism was that we was woken very early every morning due to the ammount of daylight in our room from as early as 4:30am, so sleep was quite disturbed. I think the room would benefit with an extra blind maybe so that guests can adjust the ammount of light depending on which season they are staying.

The hospitality shown by Jerry & Sue is commendable.
Thank you to you both.

Keith, Angela and Alex

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaparkinson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and I booked a week at 'Compston House' after seeing TV program and reading reviews on the Internet.
We expected the best and were not disappointed. Sue and Jerry were excellent hosts and I believe they have found their 'natural vocation'. They both looked after us as though we were the only guests!
We had booked the Florida Room which was very light and airy. Everything was spotlessly clean and also, which is all too often not the case, everything worked in the room.
We were impressed by the up to date TV, free Wi Fi and the inovative 'touch switching' on the lighting.
Breakfast was amazing and truely the best I have experienced in all my years of staying away both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My wife and I have been going to Compston House since 2007, in 2007 it was a lovely place, a place I would recommend to anyone and everyone. In my mind Compston House is now the number one B&B for me anywhere in the world.

Ambleside is a lovely place to base any stay in the Lakes, not too touristy, plenty of nice places to eat all accessible on foot and with all the attractions of the Lakes available at a short distance.

Compston House itself is the heart of this attraction for us. Everything from the superb warm welcome that Sue and Jerry provide you with, through to the world class breakfast and front of house service on to the sheer delight of the US of A State themed rooms (all done with amazing taste).

Sue and Jerry can recommend you a walk, a restaurant, a film to see, a place to visit. On special occasions (4th of July, Birthdays, Halloween) there is always a little extra treat to try.

Discounts at several local restaurants are gratefully received as are recommendations of new things to try across Ambleside.

I am certain my wife and I will return to Compston House more and more whilst ever Sue and Jerry run this delightful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing