We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can,t wait to try some more pancakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can,t wait to try some more pancakes”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

wonderful hosts so warm and friendly.The pancakes are sooo good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
718
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We loved staying at your B&B in Ambleside, and appreciated your kindness and great hospitality. Your breakfasts are the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at Compston House. We just couldn't bring ourselves to book anywhere else in the Lake District as we would never find a B&B which would ever compare, and would never find hosts as welcoming and friendly as Sue and Jerry. We stayed in the Hawaii room; it was bright, spacious, airy and very comfortable. As everyone else comments here, we especially looked forward to sampling the breakfasts again (especially the pancakes and maple syrup)! We even got to try Sue's blueberry muffins as we were still resident on the Sunday morning. This was a totally relaxing break in lovely accommodation, with gorgeous breakfasts to boot! If you are looking for excellent accommodation in the Lakes at great value, then look no further - this is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our whole expeience revolves around the word 'Perfect'

Food was excellent, well prepared, cooked to perfection and a great choice....We have put on 7lbs in four days.

We had the Florida room and it felt like we were in a sunny Florida....lots of tea, coffeee milk, sweets and biscuits.

Sue & Gerry were attentive without being intrusive, Gerry has a great sense of humour and they provide a first class service naturally. Nothing was too much trouble.

Definitely worth another few visits

Jim & Josie Liverpool

Room Tip: Any room will do --- all of value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimgraves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

There is nothing we can say against Compston House. We were made feel very welcome and called us by our names which was nice, - a wee personal touch. Compston House is immaculate room very nice and beds very comfortable and ejoyed our lovely breakfast in the morning .Sue makes blueberry muffins to die for. Will def be back...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndasmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Having seen Compston house with Sue and Jerry on the ITV prog 'The Lakes' we decided to take a look at the website and we didn't need to look any further. We expected it to be good but what we got was a lot better than good with Sue and Jerry as our hosts.
The breakfast was outstanding with our plates piled high we didn't need anything to eat all day and our room (Maine) was very clean and comfortable.
It is in an excellent place as a base to visit the Lake District.
We will definitely come back to stay at Compston House again........soon.
Only one complaint, Sue makes better pancakes and sweet eggy bread than i do.
All in all a perfect few days away at very reasonable prices.
Thank you Sue and Jerry from Tracy and Stuart

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-N-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was a last minute decision for us, but one that we were pleased we had made

A real welcome treat with our hosts just wanting to make sure that every visitor had a great time (& had a full breakfast - US style!)

The rooms decor, was, erm, unique with a US town theme to each one, which raised a smile, but made you feel at home.

The location is simply superb, being right at the edge of town, even though on a corner, off road parking is available just a few yard from the front door.

Like everyone who has stayed here I have to comment on Sue's breakfasts - simply massive! adn very very nice - I tried everything whilst we were there !

As for the pancakes, you will not be able (or allowed) to say No! - you simply have to try them - and I am sure they grow as the days go on

Wonderful hosts and a big thank you for the hospitality

We hope to be back again - if we can get a room

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
612 reviews
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing