We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place , we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #11 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at Compston House. The room was spotlessly clean, everything we could have needed was provided in the room, and the bed was very comfortable. The dining room was a very pleasant place to sit and eat a relaxing breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, there was so much choice it was difficult to decide, everything was very well presented and top quality.We will certainly be back to try more of the breakfast menu. Thank you to Sue and Gerry for making us so very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddersfieldMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

wonderful hosts so warm and friendly.The pancakes are sooo good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We loved staying at your B&B in Ambleside, and appreciated your kindness and great hospitality. Your breakfasts are the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at Compston House. We just couldn't bring ourselves to book anywhere else in the Lake District as we would never find a B&B which would ever compare, and would never find hosts as welcoming and friendly as Sue and Jerry. We stayed in the Hawaii room; it was bright, spacious, airy and very comfortable. As everyone else comments here, we especially looked forward to sampling the breakfasts again (especially the pancakes and maple syrup)! We even got to try Sue's blueberry muffins as we were still resident on the Sunday morning. This was a totally relaxing break in lovely accommodation, with gorgeous breakfasts to boot! If you are looking for excellent accommodation in the Lakes at great value, then look no further - this is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our whole expeience revolves around the word 'Perfect'

Food was excellent, well prepared, cooked to perfection and a great choice....We have put on 7lbs in four days.

We had the Florida room and it felt like we were in a sunny Florida....lots of tea, coffeee milk, sweets and biscuits.

Sue & Gerry were attentive without being intrusive, Gerry has a great sense of humour and they provide a first class service naturally. Nothing was too much trouble.

Definitely worth another few visits

Jim & Josie Liverpool

Room Tip: Any room will do --- all of value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimgraves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

There is nothing we can say against Compston House. We were made feel very welcome and called us by our names which was nice, - a wee personal touch. Compston House is immaculate room very nice and beds very comfortable and ejoyed our lovely breakfast in the morning .Sue makes blueberry muffins to die for. Will def be back...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndasmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Having seen Compston house with Sue and Jerry on the ITV prog 'The Lakes' we decided to take a look at the website and we didn't need to look any further. We expected it to be good but what we got was a lot better than good with Sue and Jerry as our hosts.
The breakfast was outstanding with our plates piled high we didn't need anything to eat all day and our room (Maine) was very clean and comfortable.
It is in an excellent place as a base to visit the Lake District.
We will definitely come back to stay at Compston House again........soon.
Only one complaint, Sue makes better pancakes and sweet eggy bread than i do.
All in all a perfect few days away at very reasonable prices.
Thank you Sue and Jerry from Tracy and Stuart

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy-N-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing