We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Ambleside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Ambleside”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just returned from another break with Sue and Jerry. Florida is our special place and the Compston House is perfect for our long weekend breaks. We'll be returning in 2 weeks time to do it all over again. Its within easy walking distance of all our favourite restaurants. My husband is a great full English Breakfast eater, 2 eggs sunny side up. I prefer vanilla yoghurt with fruit followed by scrambled egg on toast. You can have as much or as little as you want, eggy bread is also a favourite. You are always guaranteed a warm welcome. The rooms are immaculately clean, modern, fresh, and thanks to people like Sue and Jerry they have raised the standard of B & B's in Ambleside. They work so hard to ensure that all their guests who stay at their home are well looked after and all their returning customers can vouch for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
714
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

we have just come back from a break at compston house hotel. The bed and breakfast is nice and we were in the arizona room which unfortunately was very noisy position to be in as it was on a corner with traffic and my husband had to wear earplugs at night. The breakfast was terrible who on earth wants to face that enormous portions first thing in a morning. We would have preferred to help ourselves to orange juice . There was a choice of an english breakfast or an american breakfast. I asked for an english breakfast minus the beans hoping it would be left off the plate but no they decided to pile it high with mushrooms instead. I could not eat half of what was on the plate. The american breakfast was two pancakes with maple syrup bacon that was like a pork chop with tough crackling turkey and cranberry sausages potato and egg. Omellettes were nice though and the pancakes I had on the last morning was not cooked through and unfortuanelty I had to leave it. I will not be staying there again as there are plenty of nicer places to stay in ambleside with a sensible breakfast. I have now realised I prefer to spend a bit more money and go to a better place

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are so disappointed when even one guest does not enjoy their experience with us, but are especially surprised that this guest did not enjoy our award winning breakfast. We have received the Visit England Breakfast Award for the past two years, and have appeared on ITV ''The Lakes'' television programme because of our superb breakfasts! All the other reviewers on TripAdvisor consistently give us very high ratings, especailly on our breakfast. At Compston House guests can order what they like each morning--a full breakfast, any part of it, and something different each morning of their stay if they wish. Guests don't have to pre-order breakfast here...everything is cooked up fresh to order each morning. We like to give our guests a fresh, high quality, hearty breakfast to set them up for the day....whether they are fell walking, sightseeing, or just walking around the shops. Most guests appreciate that! We offer a huge choice at breakfast--a full American breakfast (with homemade pancakes), a full English breakfast, a choice of omelettes (cheese, mushroom or tomato) as well as eggy bread (sweet or savory). Breakfast is cooked to your order each day--so you can decide if you want a full breakfast, a small one, or just scrambled eggs on toast or even just a stack of pancakes! Our bacon and sausage are from a proper local butcher. The bacon is home cured and the sasuages are award winning Cumberland Sausages. They are made from PORK and traditional herbs (NOT turkey and cranberry)!

If the husband is so sensitive to noise that he travels with earplugs, then yes, these guests should have spent the extra money and stayed in a country house hotel. But then they would have missed all the wonderful amenities that Ambleside has to offer--a big variety of local restaurants--Thai, Italian, Chinese, Indian, classic English modern English, and a new French restaurant opening soon---all within walking distance of Compston House! They'd also miss all the wonderful little places to stop for a coffee or a pint, and all the interesting little local shops, and all the fabulous fell walks that you can do right from Ambleside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

stayed for three nights in the lovley town of ambleside.This was our first visit to the Lake District and it woneted be our last.
Compston House - What a wonderful place to stay and Sue & Jerry were such wonderful hosts - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were delightful - clean and tidy - my wife wanted to take the bed home with her - it was so comfortable.
If you are looking for accommodation in the Lake District at a very reasonable rate you
should stay here, if only for Sue's breakfasts including her pancakes.
A wonderful holiday which is down to Compston house.
Bob & Nesta Hughes

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Compston House recently for a 4 night break - our second visit.
Sue & Jerry are fantastic friendly hosts, and Sue's breakfasts would not be bettered in a top class hotel. Loads of top quality choice. None of your salty soggy supermarket bacon, this is the proper award winning quality stuff !... And the pancakes?... well, lets just say I weighed more after my 4 days then I did at the start. Delicious ! Jerry deserves mention for the way he looks after you at breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble, and I genuinely feel he would let you eat the cupboards bare if you really wanted.
I must also mention the cleanliness of the rooms. Really spot on, and an absolute credit.
If you are planning on a B&B break to the Lakes, you really will not regret staying at Compston House. We'll definitely be back !

Room Tip: New York & Maine..... Both excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had the very great pleasure to stay at Compston House for 4 nights, Sue and Jerry were excellent hosts made us feel so very welcome the room was spotlessly clean as was the entire place and the breakfast made by Sue is the best breakfast in the Northern Hemisphere!! We will be telling our friends to stay at Compston House and we will definitley be making a return visit and very much look forward to sampling the best American hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed in the Texas room to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. When we arrived the welcome was very friendly and nothing seemed too much bother for Sue and Jerry. Our room was very clean and suited our needs perfectly. The highlight of our stay had to be the breakfast. Everyone should try the American breakfast- although you may need to sleep it off!

I have no reservations in recommending this wonderful B and B! If you're tempted, do it, you won't regret it! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we had a lovely stay with Sue & Jerry, hubby saw them featured on 'The Lakes' & 'Countryfile' and really wanted to see if their breakfasts were as good as they looked. Indeed the surpassed our expectations - great cook Sue. Jerry is excellent at front of house at breakfast, but they don't make a nuisance of themselves at all. Very helpful and knowledgable and obliging. Car parking thrown in is a real bonus. We stayed in 2 rooms during our 7 night stay, we began in the Montanna room, with a 'moose' for company, then we moved to the 'Hawaiian' room. As we are fairly rotund people we did struggle with the small en-suites, but they were perfectly adequate, but no room for real fatties - so beware of staying and having too many all Americal breakfasts, unless you can walk them off with miles and miles of fell walking..... Well done Sue & Jerry and thanks again. We will see you again one day if we venture up to the lakes again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing