We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
884
56
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
884
56
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssue jerryblueberry muffinsamerican breakfastflorida roomeggy breadperfect hostslake districtlocal carparking permitthemed roomswarm welcomenothing is too much troublebacon and sausagefull englishaward winningbreakfast was amazinga great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
683 - 688 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Just back from a four night stay at this fabulous B&B. Our room was small but spotlessly clean and very quiet!!The breakfasts were the best we ever tasted, my only regret being that I didn't taste the pancakes til our last day!! Would definitely recommend Sue and Jerry's to anyone visiting the Lakes. from the location to the welcome and the food. we couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

An ideal place to explore the lake District.Sue and Jerry made us very welcome from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. They remembered ours and all the guest names, which was a very personnel touch seeing as the B&B was full. The breakfast is to die for, no combination was too difficult for them. We stayed in the Florida room which was light and airy with lovely views in October. Sue and Jerry provided us with information of walks, places to eat and buses to local places.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Perfect is the only way to describe our stay at Compston House. So central for all the Lakes and Ambleside centre. The welcome and friendliness, beautiful room, food, warmth and information were 1st class. You were so kind to Bernie and myself, we will never forget that or your fabulous pancakes. I know we will be back with you next year if not before.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

took my mum and stayed in the florida room which was incredibly light and airy and immaculate.greeted by sue and jerry who had took great pains in taking notes from the phone call we had.called us by our 1st names and made us feel v welcome and so helpful without being overbearing.but the best thing was the breakfast it was superb i would go just foor the breakfast,it was fabulous and didnt need to eat for the rest of the day.i bought some of the same bacon from the local butchers,the french toast was amazing ,how anyone can find fault with this b&b there is something wrong with you.sue and jerry obviously love what they do and have got the social aspect down to a fine art thankyou

Room Tip: light and airy florida room x
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed in the Hawaii room for 3 nights, on the 2nd floor at the front of the building. The B&B is located on a corner on the main road into Ambleside and the traffic can be noisy at times during the day, however it does ease off in the evening. The room came with a private parking space right next door which was ideal.

The entire place was spotless, the hosts very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast on offer can be huge but they are more than happy to provide smaller portions or particular items mixed and matched to your choice.

Within a couple of minutes walk you are in the centre of the town with plenty of quality restaurants, coffee houses and shops.

Compston House is highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews