We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #10 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked here as a result of other peoples reviews and we were not disappointed. Sue and Jerry are the perfect hosts and the house a perfect base for activities in the Lakes.
We stayed for 3 nights and had the Maine Room, the room was light, warm and very cosy, slept really well in the king size bed.
The breakfast does set you up for the day - so much choice and soooo tasty, from juice to cereal to full English or American with Sue`s perfect pancakes, or you can have any combination you want and its never a hassle with Jerry.
We had a great few days in Ambleside with some great walks but it was a pleasure to come back to Compston House. Would recommend to others and will certainly be returning here.
Thank you both for a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room came with off road parking which in Ambleside is always a plus
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just returned from a two night stay and what else is there to stay fantastic service from check in right through to check out.
Lovely room with high quality furniture, lovely relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel but it is sue and jerry who really make the experience special! Nothing is too much trouble for them and the breakfasts are out of this world, all made freshly for you when you come down in the morning. You can choose to have as little or as much as you like, you will not experience tastier pancakes this side of the Atlantic!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Florida room, lovely views from all sides plus a large velux window so it was nice...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in the New York room of this wonderful b&b - it was spotlessly clean, well presented and had a really comfortable bed! Sue and Jerry made us feel extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The whole place is warm and friendly, the atmosphere is very relaxed despite everything being perfectly organised. The location is great for everything Ambleside has to offer and parking was only a few minutes walk away. Having said all that, the best part of this fantastic place HAS to be the breakfast! Everything you could possibly want from fruit and yogurt, to pancakes and maple syrup, to a full English fry-up. I would urge anyone thinking of visiting Ambleside to stay here!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has a theme so they are all slightly different, just pick which part of the USA yo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraclements1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Sue and Jerry are a lovely couple, who absolutely welcome you with both arms. They are such a friendly face to walk in to or wake up to. Really can't fault their friendly nature and charming American style. Compston House is clean, it's well-presented and well-furnished. We stayed in the Wyoming Suite, which is smaller but still feels like a nice room. The bed was very comfy, the room was warm - the heating was on, and everything was spotless. The location is very good. Although it is on a main road, it overlooks a playing field and the hills, which are a lovely sight at breakfast. Breakfasts will speak for themselves! Just loosen your belt. My partner and I both agreed that we couldn't see any reason why we would go anywhere else in the area. Sue and Jerry make it too nice to be there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceTravelsery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just returned from our second stay at Compston House in Ambleside, everything was wonderful from the lovely large bright room (Florida) to excellent breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble for our very friendly hosts, who bring some excellent American customer service to England. Located in lovely area with plenty local places to eat and shop in Ambleside and nearby Windermere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have been coming to the Compston House for twelve years now - we've lost count of the number of times we've been here. We enjoy being here just as much now as we did the first time we met Sue and Jerry. It's the perfect place to stay not just in Ambleside, but the whole of the Lakes. It's our second home and we hope to continue coming for a long time yet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have just had the pleasure of another 3 night stay at Compston House. Sue and Jerry never fail to deliver from the warm welcome, through the spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms to those lovely breakfasts. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £79 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing