We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great visit to Ambleside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #10 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great visit to Ambleside”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The room was clean and spacious with very comfortable bed. Great location to explore Ambleside on foot and access to transport for further afield. Advice on places to eat couldn't have been better and local restaurants are great and lots of choice but The Glass House really stood out. The welcome and atmosphere throughout stay was friendly and the best thing full stop was the epic breakfast, just awesome and worth staying just to have it again. For value and quality will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
719
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester le Street
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We usually stay in Florida, sometimes Hawaii, but the weather was so good this last weekend we booked a bit later than normal and were happy to take any room - as long as it was in Compston House! We don't worry about that because we know that all the rooms are immaculate, all the beds are amazingly comfortable and, of course, Sue and Jerry are the perfect hosts. We always enjoy the Lakes, love Ambleside and Compston House is our home from home - but when the weather is as good as it was last weekend, well, who needs to go abroad!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Best Lake District B&B we have stayed in. Great hosts, huge good quality breakfasts, decent rooms, lovely bright breakfast room and sitting room, everything in good nick. We stayed in the Texas room at the top - good size, compact bathroom, virtually no traffic noise despite the central location and having the window open in the summer heat. You get free parking permits for the town car parks and others in the area, and 10% off at the Doi Instanon Thai restaurant (one of the best places in town). Very good value. Will definitely go back next time in Ambleside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband & I stayed at Compston House last week, for 3 nights. It is the first time we have been there. Sue & Jerry were nice, friendly, cheerful & helpful - we tried the Thai Restaurant, which was one of their recommendations, and it was really good. We stayed in the "Hawaii" room and it was very clean. The breakfast was very good, with excellent quality bacon & sausages from a local butcher and Sue's pancakes are very tasty. We would definitely stay at Compston House again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've stayed in a lot of B&B in Ambleside,but this is the best.Sue and Jerry really look after you and make you feel at home.We stayed in the Texas room,which was roomy ,bright and very clean, clean towels every day.The breakfasts were to die for!!,as much or as little as you wanted,we opted for the first choice and highly recommend the pancakes and maple syrup! When returning to Ambleside we sure will stay again.
Graham & Carol (Wallsend)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgraread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wouldn't normally visit somewhere that was themed but this place was recommended to us by someone who visits at least 3 times a year so we didn't want to miss out. The american theme is not overdone at all but gives this B&B something different...we liked it. We stayed in the New York room, was perhaps a little smaller than it seemed on the picture on the website and bathroom very small but perfectly happy with it.

We loved the breakfast, prepared by Sue and served by Jerry, who has a great patter...American, English and lots of pancakes and if you are there on a Sunday warm from the oven blueberry muffins.

Great location in centre of Ambleside, within walking distance of lots of restaurants,to some of which you get 10% discount, shops and cinemas. Our room came with a parking permit which allowed us to park in Ambleside within easy walking distance of Compston House and also use other car parks in the area.

Spotlessly clean and fresh and run very efficiently by Sue and Jerry, they seem to have it off to a fine art which makes for a very relaxing stay. Great hospitality and nice touch that Sue and Jerry remember everyone's name.

Room Tip: New York room smaller than it seemed on the website and bathroon very small but otherwise perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This B & B is a real gem, with Sue & Jerry taking care of all your needs, especially making sure you left in the mornings full and satisfied after breakfast, nothing was too much trouble and you can have anything you like and any combination. Very central location with very good shops, restaurants and bars on the door step. Parking pass is provided so no problems with parking close by, they also have an area you can store mountain bikes if needed. Rooms were very comfortable, very clean and beautiful linen on the beds. We would highly recommend this B & B, with Sue & Jerry being perfect hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabert0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing