We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like a huge breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great if you like a huge breakfast”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The point of difference for this B&B is the potentially huge breakfast and the inclusion of pancakes on the menu. However if you don't choose the UK or US Breakfast combinations, and prefer just cereal or yoghurt and fruit, the servings are fairly small - it is not self serve.

Other than that it is as good as many other B&Bs, with friendly hosts and clean rooms.

Location is not an issue as there are a multitude of other B&Bs on the same block.

Our room was noisy from guests walking in the room above and running water sounds when our neighbours flushed the toilet or had a shower.

Note - for almost every B&B in Ambleside, parking is wherever you can find it on the street - you might have to walk several hundred metres.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor - you wont have noise of water running past or people walking above :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We always receive top marks from guests about our award winning breakfasts, whether they choose a full breakfast, a lighter option, or something in between. It's a shame that these guests seemed confused about breakfast. Breakfast is not self-serve. Our food is cooked fresh to order, and guests can order a full breakfast, any part of a breakfast, or any combination. These guests started their breakfast with normal sized bowls of cereal, organic yoghurt and fresh fruit, followed by their choice of omelettes with bacon and sausage. When asked if they wanted anything more at breakfast, these guests always responded ''no''. But their complaint is about not getting enough to eat? Now we're confused.
It's a shame these guests were also confused about their free parking permit. These money-saving permits have always proved very popular with our guests, as they provide free parking for four car parks in Ambleside (very close to the house), as well as numerous car parks throughout the South Lakes, including Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere, Kendal, etc....thus saving our guests quite a bit of money during their stay with us. We're not sure why they felt they could only park on the street. Fortunately, over 97% of our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay at Compston House, especially the award winning breakfast and the free parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
716
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this lovely place in the centre of Ambleside rather late. Both Sue and Jerry were very welcoming and helpful in everything we needed. Breakfast is very hearty and varied and served with a warm smile. Both proprietors are very accommodating for any requests at breakfast too. The place is a walking distance from the centre of Ambleside. It is clean and well laid out. The room that we stayed in had a lovely view of a hill and the road but was a bit small. The en-suite was clean and tidy. Overall the experience was thoroughly enjoyable and we will be coming back.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had an amazing two night stay here in the cozy montana room, the owners sue and jerry were so friendly and welcoming and will help you out with anything you need. The breakfast is fantastic with so much choice there is something for everyone and it fills you up for all day. Me and my partner will definitely be back again to see sue and jerry it was an absolute pleasure and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLovingLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our stay with Sue & Jerry was a marvelous experience. Their hospitality is second to none, offered with great humour.. All the breakfast options were delicious. They were very helpful with local information, eating out in the evenings and offering discounts for some local restaurants.A truly unique and special break, recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina13154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and i have just arrived back home from our amazing 2 night stay at the Compston house We got a lovley warm welcome off Sue & Jerry they sorted our parking out asap and even gave use some discount cards for a couple of nearby resturants! They showed us to our room we were in the Montana room quite small but big enough for us really cosy the room is decorated lovley :) the breakfasts are lovley to :) there is lots to choose from full english full american breakfast, pancakes , choc chip pancake were so nice!! This b&b is very clean and i cant say 1 bad word about it!! Sue and jerry will make you more than welcome. we 100% recommend this b&b :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci_Liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have stayed at the Compston many times over 6 years. Sue and Jerry make us very welcome every time we stay. Last year we visited the Compston on 4 occasions. Its very well located near to the centre of Ambleside with good restaurants within a very short walk. Breakfast is excellent with a good variety of cereals, and a filling, cooked breakfast. The rooms are clean and welcoming. My wife and I enjoy the Lake District so much and we like to think of the Compston as our second home in the Lakes. Thanks Sue and Jerry for looking after us so well over the years we have stayed with you.

Room Tip: Hawaii and Florida are our favourite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The room was clean and spacious with very comfortable bed. Great location to explore Ambleside on foot and access to transport for further afield. Advice on places to eat couldn't have been better and local restaurants are great and lots of choice but The Glass House really stood out. The welcome and atmosphere throughout stay was friendly and the best thing full stop was the epic breakfast, just awesome and worth staying just to have it again. For value and quality will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing