We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eaglesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a fantastic B&B - Sue and Gerry were very welcoming. The entire B&B was immaculate and beautifully decorated. We stayed in No 6 - the Montana, although compact and bijou it was perfect in every way. The first night we drank our G&T from our tea cups, and the second day we were presented with a silver tray with glasses - a very nice touch without even being requested. Room was very quiet, even with the window open. Towels were replaced every day along with complimentary toiletries.
Then the piece de resistance - the all American Breakfast straight from NYC, fantastic pancakes smothered in Maple syrup if you wish - this comes along with bacon, hash browns, Cumberland sausage and eggs (fried, scrambled or poached). Add to this toast, tea and orange juice and this certainly sets you up for the day. We had a lovely stay there are will definitely return to experience every room as they are all different.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
714
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just spent Saturday night at sue and Jerry's b&b, fantastic hospitality. Nice clean accommodation. But have to say the breakfast was amazing, would recommend anyone looking somewhere to stay.10 out of 10

Room Tip: No complaints, if your driving there ask for a free parking ticket great to use in other villages sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Compston House for our honeymoon and could not have chosen a better treat to start our married life together. From the moment you walk through the door and meet Sue and Jerry, you're already mentally planning when to go back! It's really no wonder that Compston House has won (and will continue to win) numerous breakfast awards. Jerry is the ever attentive waiter and nothing is too much trouble at all. You can play around with the elements of breakfast that they provide in order to create your very own perfect breakfast!
We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wyoming room - it's nice and quiet at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013 in the Texas room. The room had everything we wanted, even a hair dryer (typical on the one occasion I had actually remembered to bring mine!). The room was a good size for the two of us, with a comfortable great big bed. I loved the little touches - the neckerchief and cowboy hat, the cool bathroom mirror with lights. In fact the whole house (what we saw of it) was tastefully decorated and well appointed.
We were given a really warm welcome by Sue and Jerry, they referred to us by our names from the minute we walked through the door to the moment we waved goodbye, it's such a small thing but something you don't get very often. I felt that they were genuinely pleased to have us stay.

And so on to the fabulous breakfast. Sue cooks and Jerry serves. He is a constant presence in the dining room and nothing is too much trouble - even when my partner asked for more bacon. I highly recommend the American breakfast, it's not so enourmous that it's silly but it is big enough to keep you going certainly until lunch. You can tell the best quality ingredients are used, free range eggs and local bacon and sausage. The pancakes were gorgeous. I couldn't face a full breakfast the next morning, so had toast, an omelette and a pancake, I was also offered a freshly made (and still warm) blueberry muffin - which is a treat on Sundays.

Upon arrival we were given some vouchers for local restaurants, we tried one of the Thai's that Sue recommended and that was brilliant too and nice to get 10% off.

If I was looking for somewhere to stay in Ambleside again, this would be my first choice, for the great hospitality, the comfortable rooms and the amazing breakfasts!

Room Tip: We stayed in Texas, but I would love to try Miami, it looks really spacious from the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the Texas room in July 2013.
The Room:
Decent size for the price, kept on banging my leg against the large bed, maybe too much furniture for the size. There were plenty of spaces for hanging your clothes and 6 drawers, I would suggest that the cleaners look underneath the drawer liners everytime they do a clean as that deterred me from placing my clothes in there. The ensuite was extremely small, but it does the job. Fresh towels every day which is a bonus! Good complimentary offer of toiletries as well. The whole duration of stay was blessed with hot weather but it was extremely unbearable in the room as it was the top floor and only had 1 small window in the corner. The window looks out onto a busy road in the afternoon but is at a complete standstill at night so keeping the window opened at night was not a problem.

The Breakfast:
Sit down at the table with your room number and you will be greeted by a glass of orange juice. Shortly after Jerry will drop by offering Tea or Coffee. He will then ask if you want anything to start with, we always opted for yoghurt and fruit. The toast is also plonked onto the table as part of the standard package of the breakfast, you then get to opt for the american breakfast, english breakfast or just pancakes alone. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed, it is really good and absolutely filling saving us some money and time by skipping lunch!

Location:
On the edge of Ambleside, but Ambleside is so small you can reach everywhere in 20 mins. 20 minute stroll to the Waterside Pier. Stones throw away from a range of restaurants and shops.

There is no on site parking, but the establishment offers a free parking permit which we found better. This allowed us to goto Bowness, Windemere without having to pay for parking. Overall this B&B was good for the money you are paying, and the breakfast completes it.

Room Tip: Texas room is on the top floor (3rd floor) only access via stairs. Big metal bed and one small windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We're pleased these guests enjoyed our award winning breakfast, and made good use of the free, money-saving parking permit we provided.

These guests stayed during the heat wave....it hasn't been that warm since 2006. Yes, Ambleside and the rest of England were a bit warm. We're sorry it was sunny and warm all week, but this was beyond our control!

Most people don't expect B&B's to have lifts, especially in the Lake District National Park. To clarify, guest rooms are located on the 1st floor and the 2nd floor....there is no 3rd floor in our B&B.

Our recent Visit England Hotel Inspector Assessment (for 2013) rated us Four Star, with 100% on cleanliness! And, we also score 100% on cleanliness through our TripAdvisor ratings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently, and had a wonderful time. The room (Maine) was spacious and airy, and had a good view out over the village green. The ensuite was a little cozy but big enough for our needs.
The breakfast was amazing, and the standard never dropped throughout our stay. The service was great, and Jerry and Sue were spot on with their advice, hospitality and sense of humour.
I would definitely recommend Compston House, and will definitely stay there again the next time I'm up that way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The point of difference for this B&B is the potentially huge breakfast and the inclusion of pancakes on the menu. However if you don't choose the UK or US Breakfast combinations, and prefer just cereal or yoghurt and fruit, the servings are fairly small - it is not self serve.

Other than that it is as good as many other B&Bs, with friendly hosts and clean rooms.

Location is not an issue as there are a multitude of other B&Bs on the same block.

Our room was noisy from guests walking in the room above and running water sounds when our neighbours flushed the toilet or had a shower.

Note - for almost every B&B in Ambleside, parking is wherever you can find it on the street - you might have to walk several hundred metres.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor - you wont have noise of water running past or people walking above :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We always receive top marks from guests about our award winning breakfasts, whether they choose a full breakfast, a lighter option, or something in between. It's a shame that these guests seemed confused about breakfast. Breakfast is not self-serve. Our food is cooked fresh to order, and guests can order a full breakfast, any part of a breakfast, or any combination. These guests started their breakfast with normal sized bowls of cereal, organic yoghurt and fresh fruit, followed by their choice of omelettes with bacon and sausage. When asked if they wanted anything more at breakfast, these guests always responded ''no''. But their complaint is about not getting enough to eat? Now we're confused.
It's a shame these guests were also confused about their free parking permit. These money-saving permits have always proved very popular with our guests, as they provide free parking for four car parks in Ambleside (very close to the house), as well as numerous car parks throughout the South Lakes, including Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere, Kendal, etc....thus saving our guests quite a bit of money during their stay with us. We're not sure why they felt they could only park on the street. Fortunately, over 97% of our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay at Compston House, especially the award winning breakfast and the free parking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing