We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
880
56
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
880
56
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssue jerryblueberry muffinsamerican breakfastflorida roomeggy breadb bperfect hostslake districtlocal carparking permitthemed roomswarm welcomenothing is too much troublebacon and sausagefull englishaward winningbreakfast was amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were given a very warm friendly welcome when we arrived. Sue and Jerry are great hosts ensuring everything is perfect. The room was fresh and comfortable and the standard of cleanliness is outstanding. Breakfast was a feast and absolutely delicious with lots of choice. The homemade American style pancakes, made by Sue, are delicious and not to be missed. Jerry is the perfect host ensuring everyone is cared for. Location is perfect, close to all amenities and a great centre from which to explore. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our second visit to Compston House. It was as great as the first time. The Maine room was very comfortable and had everything you could want for your stay. The breakfasts are fantastic, they really set you up for the day! You must try the choc pancakes with fresh fruit and maple syrup, bliss!!
Sue and Jerry are very friendly and welcoming. A lovely few days away in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathgMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Florida room immensely in August, with beautiful views of both Loughrigg Fell and over the bowling green across the street. We were warmly welcomed and were impressed with the cleanliness of our room and the entire B&B. Lots of little touches made us feel completely relaxed - we left an unopened bottle of wine in our room and upon our return we found a silver tray with two large glasses awaiting us! The bed was comfy with beautiful high thread count sheets, changed daily. The shower/toilet room was just enough room for one but served its purpose and was very clean. The American style breakfast was just as advertised, lots of choice and everything was delicious. Jerry was a perfect host, circulating the dining room and seeing to everything in a calm and efficient manner. We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Ambleside and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Florida room was very spacious and nice to have the seating area, especially if you're going to be staying a few days and don't always want to be sitting on the bed. Lovely views! But beware if it rains, the velux windows mean it is very noisy!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juniper2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A warm and wonderful welcome from Sue & Jerry. Nothing is too much trouble, knowledge of area fantastic and lots of advice on where to eat.
Breakfast is truly awesome with English and American versions or mix and match as you please. If you go hungry then more fool you!!!!!!!! Can't wait to go back, we had such good fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A warm and wonderful welcome from Sue & Jerry. Nothing is too much trouble and breakfast is phonemenal - English, American or any combination of the above!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you leave here hungry it's your own fault. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews