We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing long weekend at compston house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #11 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Compston house is a great base for exploring the lakes. Staying for the second time, we chose the Texas room at the top floor which was spotless clean, convenient and very quiet despite the fact that it overlooks one of the main roads. Fantastic breakfast suited to your tastes and needs, served by the welcoming hosts was the best way to start the day. Having tried the pancakes in our previous stay, we were very much looking forward to this morning treat! Compston house is a few minutes walk from many great restaurants, which we always appreciate after a long hike. If you are unsure where to go out for a meal, Sue and Jerry have plenty of suggestions and we were never disappointed taking their advice. Parking is free with a permit provided by the hosts and the closest parking lot is only a 2 min walk. We were also able to use the permit in other cities which was a big plus as in the lakes you have to pay for parking pretty much anywhere. we will return very soon!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ghostresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay! Sue & Gerry are excellent hosts and gave great recommendation for places to eat. The Arizona room was very comfortable and the breakfast of excellent eggs bacon and pancakes means I now have to master the art of American style breakfasts at home. Won't be our last visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Purpleweej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed at this fantastic B&B in Ambleside in October 2013. We were welcomed by our two very hosts, Sue and Gerry, who throughout our visit made us extremely welcome into their 'home'. I have dietary needs I am gluten and lactose intolerant and I was made to feel like it was 'no big deal' and was provided with excellent food throughout our stay, the B&B has a dedicated toaster and cooking facilities so you can eat easy knowing your needs are catered for! it's the first time I have been able to eat pancakes anywhere! The food including fresh blueberry muffins was exceptional, we were so full that we didn't need to eat throughout the day. We stayed in the New York room, which was compact but spotlessly clean and very comfortable, we certainly had no issues with sleeping and both felt totally refreshed to enjoy our few days hiking each morning. We had a really great stay and booked straight away to stay in May 2014. Over the last 20 years we have stayed at many hotels and B&B's in the Lakes and I can honestly say now we have found Compston House we will never stay anywhere else. Thank you both for such a great stay...7 months and counting until our return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked into Compston House around 5 weeks before we planned to stay. We'd looked at the web site and chose the "Florida Room". The booking procedure was easy and I was impressed by how efficient the owners seemed during this aspect of the process. The day before we were due to arrive, I received a text asking me to confirm our arrival, again, very proffessional.

We arrived to a very warm welcome, everything about the B&B was explained clearly during the handing over of our keys and discount vouchers for local restaraunts. When we'd decided where we wanted to eat, Sue offered to book our reservation, her recommendation was excellent, the food was superb.

The "Florida Room" looked good on the web site but in reality was even better. On the top floor in the eaves with wonderful views of the surrounding fells, the room was really lovely with everything you'd need and very comfortable. The breakfast, well, very high quality .... not surprising they've won so many awards. Sue and Jerry are perfect hosts, not in your face but there if you need them and nothing seems any trouble to them to help make the stay as perfect as possible.

Our weekend was great, but this B&B was the icing on the cake. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhodeislandshred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in the New York room and really wish we could have stayed longer. The room was spotless and made up every day and the bed was super comfy. The welcome we received and the care throughout our stay was second to none and we felt as if we were staying with family. Now to the best bit- breakfast! Oh my! Everything is superb- the American breakfast, the choc chip pancakes and the sweet eggy bread are particularly excellent and the unlimited supply of food and drinks makes a nice change from most b&bs you stay in. Can't thank Sue & Jerry enough for a wonderful stay- we will absolutely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Do you like being spoilt ,do you like a really big breakfast then this the place to go. Compston house . What a warm welcome we got on arrival from sue & jerry. Room very quaint & spotless.Only stayed two nights will be longer next time.See you soon kev&pam

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 the maine bedroom over looking the park.Slight road noise did not wake us up.Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were given a very warm friendly welcome when we arrived. Sue and Jerry are great hosts ensuring everything is perfect. The room was fresh and comfortable and the standard of cleanliness is outstanding. Breakfast was a feast and absolutely delicious with lots of choice. The homemade American style pancakes, made by Sue, are delicious and not to be missed. Jerry is the perfect host ensuring everyone is cared for. Location is perfect, close to all amenities and a great centre from which to explore. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £80 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing