We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else can we say?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #11 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed with Sue & Jerry for 4 nights and Compston House lived up to all the previous reviews, so not much we can add as it's all been said before!.
We stayed in the bright Arizona Room, which has views of Wansfell & Loughrigg, The highlight is the breakfasts - try the blueberry & banana pancakes! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you Karen and Andy. We're pleased you enjoyed the Arizona room, with it's lovely views of both Wansfell and Loughrigg fell. This room also comes with a free money-saving permit to use the local pay and display car parks for free.

Your tariff also includes our award winning breakfast, as well as free WiFi. And don't forget to book directly on the Compston House website, for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I recently booked and stayed in the Hawaii room. The room had everything we needed with the ensuite being recently renovated. Sue & Jerry were very welcoming and thorough with their introduction. The breakfast was fantastic, although I can't talk about all the breakfasts as I just had the full American twice, which was fabulous (and award winning). The hotel is right in the action of Ambleside with a crazy golf and other minor sporting games place just outside. My wife and I have no hesitation with recommending this hotel to anyone. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky211182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank for the recommendation Richard and Emma. We're pleased you enjoyed your two night break at Compston House American-style B&B, especially the award winning breakfasts!

Yes, we've recently renovated all the en-suites (all rooms at Compston House are en-suite).

Glad you enjoyed the lovely views of Loughrigg Fell from the Hawaii room.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Been here a few days with my wife Susan .and it's been fantastic . The breakfasts are to die for . Just ask each morning and Jerry and Sue cook it fresh .. from the traditional full English or full American with bacon eggs and pancakes . Each room has its own state we stayed in the great state of Montana . Prices were really good and you also get free parking . We will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: Choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewA2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you Andrew and Susan! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Montana room. Yes, all our double rooms come with free parking.....the Montana room comes with a money-saving permit to use the local pay and display car parks for free. This permit saves you money not only in Ambleside, but in lots of other car parks in the South Lakes, so you also save money if you're visiting Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere, etc.

And remember, always book directly on the Compston House website for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend and to say that we were impressed would be an understatement! Everything about this B&B from the genuinely warm welcome, spotless rooms, friendly hosts to the choices and quality of breakfasts were SUPERB!

Thank you Sue and Jerry!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derby_DAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you Douglas and Jackie! We're glad you enjoyed your first stay with us at Compston House, and we hope this will be just the first of many visits!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon. And, don't forget to check the Compston House Official Website for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Compston House is prominently situated in the centre of Ambleside and is called 'American Style' and what style it has!! Each room is themed to an American state and lovingly furnished accordingly. Breakfasts are a real occasion with an incredible American and English choice all superbly cooked by Sue and presented by Jerry who conducts the breakfast room like a true maestro. Sue and Jerry are a lovely couple who will make you really welcome in their American/English home. Thoroughly recommended! We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMTForestRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much Graham and Heather for taking the time to write all those kind words!
We're happy you enjoyed all the choices available for breakfast, so you could have a different breakfast each morning of your one week stay with us!

It was a pleasure to see you both again this year, and we look forward to your annual visit next May!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at Sue & Jerry's Compston House - and won't be the last. With a warm welcome, attentive hosts, comfortable spotless rooms, fantastic breakfast - and a guest only parking space in a private car park a minutes walk away (included with the 'Hawaii' room) this really is a jewel of a b&b in Ambleside. For a week end break in this part of the lakes, we haven't found friendlier hosts or better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you Deb and Lou.....it was nice to see you both again! Glad you enjoyed your lactose free breakfasts, especially the blueberry pancakes! We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

And remember, always check the Compston House official website for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What can I say that I have not said before this place is simply outstanding and the warm welcome from the hosts Sue and Jerry is incredible. We had another enjoyable stay and were wonderfully well received. As ever Breakfast was incredible so if you havent sampled one of these specialities its time that you got booked up and did. Compston house is immaculately clean, comfortable and tidy, Sue, Jerry and the staff are very helpful. Free car parking is arranged for you. All in all this is just a wonderful place to stay. So folks get on down there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloretjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks Jim and Janet! We're grateful for all your high marks, and we enjoyed seeing you both again as always!

It's nice that Compston House American-style B&B gets alot of repeat guests, who come to stay with us again and again! We're pleased that so many people enjoy it here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#19 of 102 in Ambleside
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 102 in Ambleside
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#4 of 102 in Ambleside
1,222 reviews
0 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#10 of 102 in Ambleside
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#2 of 102 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £73 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing