We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #7 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Without doubt the best B + B I've ever stayed in. Sue and Jerry couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Breakfasts are marvellous, the full English and American included high quality, locally produced bacon and sausage and the pancakes were delicious, equally good with fruit and yoghurt as with the full American. At Compston House you'll find true hospitality and a rare combination of warmth and professionalism. The whole place is spotlessly clean, our room was very comfortable and the breakfast and sitting rooms were light, airy and relaxing places to be. And all this was just a two minute walk into the centre of Ambleside. Can't recommend this place highly enough, it's a real gem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Diane and Bernard. We know you stay in the Lake District often, and we're extremely pleased that you rate Compston House American-style B&B as the best! We work very hard to keep our standards high, from the award winning breakfasts to the cleanliness of the rooms, so it's nice to be appreciated!

We hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    51
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
709
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Sue and Jerry made us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. You have to try the full English breakfast and the American with pancakes, they are superb.
The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the place. The beds are very comfortable and the tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms are replenished every day.
We would definitely stay at the Compston again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maff97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Ian and Michelle. We're so glad you enjoyed your four day break at Compston House American-style B&B, especially the award winning breakfasts, the clean rooms and the comfy beds.

We look forward to your next visit with us! Don't forget to check the Compston House Official Website for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow!!! We have been frequent visitors to Ambleside for many years and this was our first time with Sue and Jerry. From the outset they couldn't do enough to make us feel most welcome. Their legendary award winning breakfasts were superb ....... so much so that we could easily skip lunch.
We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Front facing with king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much Anne! We're pleased you chose to stay with us on this visit to Ambleside! Yes, our award winning breakfasts are becoming legendary. We do our best to make sure our breakfast sets you up for the day.

We look forward to your next visit at Compston House American-style B&B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Highly professional and gracious. Sue and Jerry Virtes provide a first class service as well as the highest quality breakfast you will find anywhere - your satisfaction is their prime concern. The cleanliness of the hotel and room will stand scrutiny against the very best. This is without doubt on the top of my list when it comes to staying in the English Lake District. The only way they could improve on this winning formula would be to offer an evening meal - however, their recommendations for eating places were carefully and thoughtfully chosen, none of which proved to be a disappointment. A valuable parking permit is also provided which saves on local parking charges. Compston House has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 1 (Wyoming) which is quite small, did suffer from air conditioner noise from a neighbouring est...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Patricia and Christian! We're glad you enjoyed your first visit at Compston House American-style B&B. Jerry and I do our best to give you first class service, first class breakfast, and super clean rooms. We're pleased you've put us at the top of your list, and we hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

another great stay with excellent hosts sue and jerry. Delicious top quality breakfast with the added bonus of blueberry muffins on Sunday. We had the Maine room which has really comfortable king size bed. We will be back

Room Tip: Maine room has really comfortable king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you Julie and Jim for your kind comments on your second visit with us. Yes, the Maine room has a really comfortable king size bed, as well as a window seat and a view of the park and Loughrigg fell. It's one of our most popular rooms.

It was great to see you both again, and we look forward to your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Joan and I returned at the end of April for a long weekend at what will continue to be our favourite town to visit in the Lakes, and our favourite B&B of all time.
The key to any successful business is consistency, and Sue and Jerry have that in spades. Again we enjoyed a clean, pleasant room and belt loosening breakfasts served with Jerry's relaxed charm and Sue's quality food.
Will return and continue our exploration of the Lakes, and Sue and Jerrys States of America (rooms)
Regards, Joan and Glynn

Room Tip: All are good, but you pay a little more, you get a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It was great to see you both again Glynn and Joan, and we're thrilled that we're your ''favourite B&B of all time''! We look forward to seeing you both again soon, as you try a different room each time you visit!

Don't forget to book directly on the Compston House Official website, which has the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome from Sue and Jerry. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Very clean hotel. Light and airy. We had the Arizona room overlooking the park. Now here comes the icing on the cake, the breakfast was everything and more than you could want. I would highly recommend this hotel, and it's in the heart of Ambleside. We would stay here again for sure

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you Lesley and George! We're pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay at Compston House American-style B&B, including the lovely views from the Arizona room!

We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing