We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“'Unique'”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 3 night stay here at this wonderful and unique B&B.
Sue and Gerry were fantastic hosts who made our stay a really lovely one.
Each room is themed on an American State. We stayed in 'Hawaii' it was a beautiful room with great attention to detail.
The breakfasts truly lived up to their 'breakfast award.' I had the fantastic American complete with beautiful pancakes, maple syrup and bacon. My husband chose the 'full English' which he thoroughly enjoyed. These breakfasts set us up for the day.
The location of The Compston was ideal, right in the heart of beautiful Ambleside.
All in all the best B&B we have ever stayed in, immaculately clean in all areas and we will certainly return.
Thank you Sue and Gerry for showing American hospitality in the heart of the Lake District :)

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have lovely views but are a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linmac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Yes, each of our rooms is unique, and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Hawaii room, which has a small seating area and views of the park and Loughrigg fell.

Our award winning breakfast is cooked up fresh to your order every day....so there is no need to pre-order your breakfast, and you can have something different each morning of your stay. And yes, it's meant to set you up for the day!

Thanks for rating us as ''the best B&B we have ever stayed in''. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
714
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose to stay at Compston House for our 'honeymoon part 2' after walking past a couple of times on previous lakes visits. We were persuaded by the promise of award winning American style breakfasts and quirky rooms. I can whole-heartedly say that it didn't disappoint one bit.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Sue and Jerry made us feel completely at home and were so welcoming. The room we stayed in, the 'Texas' was spotless and had an updated en suite. There was absolutely everything you could need in there and we loved the quirky Texan touches. The king bed was super comfy and the linen was top quality; we certainly slept well!

Breakfast: well what can I say? The awards say it all really. It was absolutely delicious, the bacon and sausage were all local and Sue's homemade pancakes were to die for! We didn't need anything till about 2pm and we were fell walking both days.

We both can't wait to come back and have another great stay with Sue and Jerry

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Cariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed ''part 2'' of your honeymoon at Compston House American-style B&B!

Yes, our rooms are each individually styled, very clean and have top quality Egyptian Cotton bed linens. The handcrafted king bed is very comfy indeed!

Yes, our breakfasts are award winning. You have lots of choice.....both English and American breakfasts, as well as omelettes, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and eggy bread!
We've won awards for the past 5 consecutive years for our breakfast......and we're pleased you enjoyed them!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we had booked around the corner but when we got there it was different to the describe room - very poor standard , so we spotted this BB on a Trip to Ambleside , Sue & Jerry where excellent and had a great Customer skills - and I loved Jerry manner during the amazing Breakfast - just seemed to appear at the right moment and offer just one more pancake :-) the room was very clean and tidy and is what you would expect. plenty place to eat in the town and loads of circular walks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write all those kind words about Compston House American-style B&B! We're pleased you enjoyed the experience here, and the amazing breakfast! Yes, we pride ourselves on our high standard of cleanliness too!

And, Ambleside is a perfect base for your holiday, with plenty of places to eat and plenty of circular walks...all right here.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't let the name "American-style" fool you. Sue and Jerry offer a classic English B & B experience. They make you feel like a special guest in their home, they're incredibly helpful with advice, and they've got a library of guidebooks and schedules that they will place into your hands as soon as you mention you're interested in doing some particular thing. In the four days I was there, Sue and Jerry got me a discount at a local restaurant, they let me borrow a detailed bus schedule that was much more thorough and easy to use than the internet believe it or not, they gave me a trail map to hike the Fairfield horseshoe, and they helped me to choose a great hotel at my next destination. The Compston House is PERFECTLY situated at the foot of the village center overlooking a park and Loughrigg Fell. They're within easy walking distance (i.e., less than 10 minutes) of several classic English pubs; fantastic Thai, Indian, and Chinese restaurants; several news agents, pharmacies, and bookshops; and about 8 high quality outdoor adventure gear shops. I don't know why anyone would stay somewhere other than Ambleside when visiting the Lakes, for it's centrally located and serves as the perfect jumping-off point for pretty much anything you'd want to do in the area. By the same token, I don't know why anyone would want to stay somewhere other than Sue and Jerry's Compston House. The only thing "American" about it is the pancakes, which is a bonus as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you Doug, and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us so much!

Yes, we're centrally located in the village of Ambleside. Ambleside is a great place to use as a base for your holiday, as there are many restaurants, bistros, pubs, shops and cinemas just up the road, so you don't need to drive anywhere for an evening meal. Also, it's a great base for local walks, so you can park your car, and just walk from here. Or, you can do as Doug did and come by public transportation....even easier!

We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There aren't enough superlatives for me to describe Compston House B&B - it truly is a wonderful place!

After seeing Sue and Jerry's Compston House on TV a few years ago, we had promised ourselves we would one day stay there, and it did not disappoint!

Everything (and I do mean everything) was perfect - there was not a speck of dust or a thing out of place for our entire stay.

Our room (Texas) was beautiful, clean, well decorated (?recently) with a modern en-suite. It was a surprisingly large room. I loved all the little Texan accents, which were not over-bearing at all - it was not corny at all, but done in a really tasteful yet fun way.

Of course breakfast was AMAZING!! It comes as little surprise to see all the awards their breakfast has won - there is little more we can say that hasnt already been said by thousands of previous happy guests - we would seriously visit Compston house *just* for the breakfast if only we could!

We would like to also say how lovely, warm & welcoming Sue & Jerry are - they are lovely people who really cant do enough to ensure a perfect stay and seem to always be happy, smiling and laid back! Nothing was too much trouble.

We will absolutely definitely be returning again!

Thanks Sue & Jerry - you are both amazing, and you made our birthday weekend celebration perfect! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Texas" so can only speak for this room, but it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for all the superlatives! Yes, we were featured on Rory McGrath's ''The Lakes'' TV programme. You can see a video of it on the Compston House website.

We're pleased you enjoyed your birthday treat with us in the Texas room, which has a king bed. All of our rooms are decorated with little bits of Americana......just for fun! Glad you like ti!

We hope to see you again soon..when you're ready for our famous, award winning breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed a week in this lovely B&B, run by Sue and Jerry, two very friendly Americans that show that Americans do know best when it comes to receiving guests. They were always very friendly helpful and funny!

On to the "bed" part of the B&B. We stayed in the Maine room, which has a lovely view on the nearby "fells" (mountains). The room itself was very nice and clean, with some decorations to give it a Maine touch. Sleeping-wise, it had excellent beds. The bathroom is a bit smallish, but we didn't mind it.

As for for the "breakfast" part, this can be summed up in one world: brilliant. You can have a full English or full American breakfast or anything in between. It doesn't really matter what you choose, as everything was great. We particularly loved the pancakes and vanilla yoghurt.

The location of this B&B was great. Ambleside provides for a very convenient launching point for activities in the Lake District, be it climbing Fells, swimming in a lake or eating out in a nice restaurant (for which Sue and Jerry also provided some convenient tips).

Overall, we loved our stay at Compston House and would gladly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to the Lake District.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikSchierboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you Erik and Jay for choosing to stay at Compston House American-style B&B for your week's holiday. It was a pleasure to meet you!

Yes, our rooms have lovely views of the fells, and Compston House B&B is a great ''launching point'' for lots of walks, activities, and local restaurants. You really don't even need a car in Ambleside...everything is right here!

Thanks for the super recommendation. We hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Compston House for three nights and I can truly say it was excellent. Sue and Jerry are superb hosts and they should be very proud of the awards they have won, which are truly deserved. It was the attention to detail I appreciated , from the instruction booklet for the bedside clock alarm to the nice touch of including interesting facts about Haiwai which was the name of our room. The room was very clean and we had fresh white towels everyday. The breakfast experience was amazing and I soon found out that Maple syrup was a must with Sues delicious homemade pancakes.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different, some larger than others. This is all explained on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbert77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Pauline and Alan! We're very pleased you enjoyed your three night stay in the Hawaii room. This room is on the second floor, has a small seating area in front of the window, and wonderful views of the park and Loughrigg fell.

We pride ourselves on attention to detail, so we're glad you appreciated it. And yes, the rooms are serviced every day of your stay, with fresh towels, toiletries and replenished tea trays. Thank you again for noticing. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Don't forget to check the Compston House B&B Official Website for the lowest tariff and best choice of rooms available!
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing