We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking and Scrambling with Mountain Journeys”
Review of Mountain Journeys

Mountain Journeys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountain adventures are our speciality. Whether it be Family Adventure, Guided Walk, Navigation course, Rock Climbing, Rock Scrambling, Gorge Scrambling, Canyoning, Abseiling, or any combination of these, we’re here to help ensure you experience the very best of Lakeland's great outdoors. Single day walk or longer itineraries, we can build a bespoke package that's just for you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking and Scrambling with Mountain Journeys”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visit the Lakes every year and always use Mountain Journeys (Mark) for any extra outdoor mountain activities. This year was the fourth time we have hired Mark's services and once again we weren't disappointed.

In the past Mark has taken up on all day treks up Blencathra and Pavey Ark in the Langdales. We progressed to half a day scrambling (Raven's Crag) and this year we took on Jack's Rake with Mark.

Myself and my husband do not have a bad word to say about Mark and Mountain Journeys! We come back year after year as Mark is knowledgeable, responsible, experienced and NEVER patronising. He encourages you to push yourself but at your own pace and if you feel you can't do it he will find a way you can. You feel safe with Mark. Even when the scarey bits feel like they may defeat you, Mark has a way of encouraging you without pushing you too fast. On the other hand he doesn't 'nanny' you and let's you do things yourself but at your own pace.

I highly recommend this company if you want to try something different. Mark will also point out interesting facts about the environment and is good company for a day out!

I rarely take the time to give reviews on TripAdvisor despite always meaning to do it but this time I really feel it's worth getting off my backside and doing it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amountainjourney, Owner at Mountain Journeys, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this Jackie. Very much appreciated and really good to hear.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scafell Challenge”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks Mark for an amazing day walking up to Scafell Pike. Despite some challenging weather conditions you constantly provided information about our ascent and plenty of encouragement as we reached the summit. As the cloud and mist cleared, the scenery and views were truly amazing. We had a fabulous day and are already ready planning our next mountain. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amountainjourney, Owner at Mountain Journeys, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks so much. Great day and lovely company. So glad to hear you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
2 reviews
“A great day out Ghyll scrambling.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent a very enjoyable afternoon with Mark at Stickle Ghyll. The four of us (two in their 70's) had never done this before with ropes, but with Mark's instructions and easy going direction we soon got the hang of it. Would thoroughly recommend Mountain Journeys to anyone thinking of enjoying a guided adventure day out in the Lakes. Hope to back up there next year with my family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amountainjourney, Owner at Mountain Journeys, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Lovely to meet you all and a please to introduce you to the wonderful world of Ghyll Scrambling.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect taster for Lake District”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booking a multi-activity package with Mountain Journeys turned out to be the best way we could have chosen in order to get a real taster of Lake District within a day - of course we left wishing we could just have a bit more time for some more! Thanks to Mark, our lovely guide, we were able to enjoy the most beautiful scenery while remaining active and discovering the fun of combining walking with rock & ghyll scrambling. A big thank you Mark for being such good fun but also quite informative, for keeping us and making us feel safe at all times (especially those of us who had never before endeavoured to climb a waterfall), and for your patience with our endless questions!I will be definitely recommending Mountain Journeys to friends who are thinking of visiting Lake District and I am already looking forward to returning myself for some more activities!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amountainjourney, Owner at Mountain Journeys, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you, so glad to hear you enjoyed the day. It was a pleasure to meet you all and show you some of the sights. I think next time there will be more water in the gorge!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“Fun in the sun”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having decided to come up from london just for the weekend, we wanted to pack as much in to as little time as possible. Mark was so helpful, friendly and willing to tailor the day to suit exactly what we wanted and to our ability. Can't believe we managed to pack so much into a day! I would definitely recommend mountain journeys to anyone wanting to explore and have fun in the Lake District!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eleking1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amountainjourney, Owner at Mountain Journeys, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you, so glad to hear you enjoyed the day. It was a pleasure to meet you all and show you some of the sights.

I do hope you had time for a few more adventures during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Journeys also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Mountain Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing