We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice guesthouse, good location, but lacking atmosphere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #31 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice guesthouse, good location, but lacking atmosphere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A very nice house in a good location to explore lake Windermere. Rooms are good size and very clean. Bed was not very comfortable. Good breakfast served on polished plates. Atmosphere could be improved by reducing number of signs, telling you what to do and what not to do. We felt a bit like staying in a museum ....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
255
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a three night break in June and were very reluctant to leave. A warm welcome,a beautiful home in a stunning setting.Lovely hosts very helpful and friendly.We hope to return soon.Many thanks Caron and Paul

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaronHealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and had a wonderful time, we would recommend West Vale to anyone. The location is actually pretty perfect in our view as it's no more than 20 minutes' drive to Ambleside and it's a pretty central base to explore most of the Lakes.

The house is beautiful and obviously really cared for, Glynn and Dee take great pride in laying out a perfect buffet table for breakfast and ensuring your cooked dish is just as you like it. We are vegetarians (or fisharians I suppose!) which some people can groan at, but they were more than happy to cook breakfast just as we like it.

The bathroom was exquisite and our room modern yet old-worldy in one, a lovely simple four poster room but so comfortable and cosy and very romantic. We loved the Lakes, loved our hotel room and loved dining out in Ambleside.

We would love to return and a great big thank you for making our first holiday together the trip of a lifetime.

We hope to see you again

Habib and Lisa

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went to West Vale in December and returned in May 2012 for my birthday. We had a fabulous weekend each time. This is a very high quality establishment. The decor, furnishing, welcome and setting are all first rate. Ensuite facilities are immaculate and bedrooms are beautifully co-ordinted, as are the dining room and lounge (complete with log fire in winter). Breakfasts are locally sourced and there is a yummy buffet too each day. Can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

What an amazing experience and what a greatvfind! A beautiful home in a beautiful setting. The hosts were friendly and helpful - as with everything else, above and beyond that which we expected. The breakfast was superb. Although oldy worldy in appearance the home has been completely renovated and offers high quality ensuite accommodation that is truly 5 star.

As visitors from Australia we thoroughly enjoyed both the area and the time we spent in this beautiful home. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My expectations of this lovely, cosy country guest house were high - the pictures looked very inviting - but my expectations were far exceeded. Here's why.

First, Glynn and Dee, the lovely, smiley couple who run the place, are two of the kindest people one could meet. Examples: I was driving (like a maniac) from London to the Lakes on a Thursday after work. I had informed G&D already that I would be arriving around midnight - at about 16:00, I received a text asking if I should like a platter ready in my room to eat when I arrive, as I would probably be hungry - how considerate of them! Glynn was kindly waiting up for me when I arrived (just 10 minutes before midnight) and helped me check in very quickly, so I could settle into bed.

Another example of the welcome I received: I had climbed Scafell Pike during my trip. The following morning, I had a lovely, lovely breakfast (more later) and headed back to my room for a short nap. Dee knocked gently on my door at about 11am to ask if I was feeling ok, as I had been telling her about my sore feet at breakfast! This kind of welcome cannot be bought - it was a pleasure to stay in the company of this lovely couple.

All three nights I stayed, I slept very well in the incredibly comfortable bed. The room was so tastefully decorated - as was the rest of the house. I'm not sure why this was so surprising to me - perhaps I had subconsciously expected an Old-England style, but what I got was a beautifully welcoming, exquisitely tasteful, wonderfully comforting home away from home. Breakfast was sublime. Served on beautiful dinnerware, in a dining room that was, again, beautifully decorated and so bright, I had an English breakfast, cooked to perfection, with tea served in a proper little pot, and a naughty but divine lemon posset topped with a blueberry!

I may sound as if I'm embellishing, but I kid you not - this warm, welcoming, simply perfect house, sitting away from towns in the middle of the countryside, is exactly the place I will a) happily revisit whenever I'm up in the Lakes, and b) recommend to anyone without hesitation. In fact, I would urge anyone not to miss it.

Room Tip: Good room? You're spoilt for choice. I had room 2 which was just lovely, with a 4 poster bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anzela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heighington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our second visit and once again superb luxurious accomodation, fantastic breakfast and excellent hospitality, completely deserving of its 5 star rating. The wife and myself are made to feel at ease with Glynn and Dee and are treat as though we are old friends. Will certainly stay there again and would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Near Sawrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.2 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Property: West Vale Country House
Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing