We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #31 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One night getaway.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend decided to book for one night. We did it really last minute and booked through booking.com based on reviews we had read on tripadvisor. It was a pleasant drive until I followed the satnav and it took me through private land, nevertheless it was amusing.
We arrived at the West Vale, it was beautifully present and we were greeted by Glynn. Glynn was a wonderful host and shown us up to our room. He was more than helpful and advised us on the local pubs and eateries as we were peckish. We were in room 3 and it was very clean and well decorated with flatscreen tv/dvd player. The bathroom was spacious and the little extras of Molton Brown products were well appreciated, seen as we had forgotten most of ours. The canter of sherry went down extremely well with my boyfriend also.
Breakfast was great and Dee tended to our needs and made sure we were happy throughout.
On reflection we would return to the West Vale Country House without a doubt and would recommend it to family and friends in the future.
Thanks to Glynn and Dee.

Room Tip: I would perhaps upgrade if we were booking in advance and staying for longer than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahRS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
258
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent guesthouse located in a quiet yet convenient spot. Near to Hawkshead and within striking distance of Ambleside and Windermere with lots of local attractions as well as many country walks. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard and the cleanliness was excellent - we found many extra touches which you'd come to expect in a 4/5 star hotel rather than a guesthouse. Robes, slippers, Molton Brown toiletries and complimentary sherry as well as a huge and comfortable bed!

The hospitality was lovely and the breakfast was superb - although quiet when we visited in February when we were the only guests, we were still treated to the full breakfast spread. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We'd definitely recommend West Vale and would return.

Dinner at the Cuckoo Inn (less than 100m away) is a must as well.

Room Tip: Nice views from rooms 4 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a real gem, the hosts Dee and Glynn are extremely welcoming and this beautiful country house is in a great location. Fantastic walks on the doorstep, no need to use the car once you arrive. Two good pubs within a short stroll, the ferry to cross Windermere over to Bowness is also within walking distance. The house itself is immaculate, comfortable and cosy, nothing is too much trouble and the food is excellent. We loved it so much we booked to stay again later in the year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautifully presented, immaculately clean, wonderful friendly service, lavish furnishings, high quality and tasty evening meal and breakfast. In fact I can't think of any where that could beat this smashing small private hotel. Very reasonably priced too. Good wine for under £20 per bottle and the most generous measure of brandy you could possibly imagine !

Absolutely wonderful. Beats the pants off anything and everything for style, quality, service and value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife booked us a two night stay as part of my 40th birthday present. Glynn and Dee were the perfect hosts. Beautiful suite with extra touches and excellent food. A much more enjoyable and personal experience than staying in a large 5 star hotel.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepperedsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September last year to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and could not have wished for a better place to celebrate such a special occasion.
We had such a warm welcome to this lovely, cosy Country house. The owners (forgive me I have forgotten their names) were both extremely helpful and friendly - nothing too much trouble for them.
The breakfast was absolutely divine, best coffee and lemon posset I've ever had!
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the rooms were fantastic. Again, the bed by far the comfiest I've ever slept in - absolute heaven. Beautiful peaceful area with wonderful views.
Couple of pubs/restraunts in walking distance but plenty of places to drive to, Ambleside we particularly liked.
Would highly recommend the Lakes as a romantic break and if you book this hotel you won't be disappointed !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cjdawson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was our second Christmas stay at this lovely cottage.Very clean and tidy with everything you need. The log burner was brilliant and very welcome after arriving home rather cold and wet on many occasions! Excellent location and fantastic views from the patio window. Also there is a very good pub only a few minutes walk from the cottage. Glynn also made us feel very welcome. Can't wait to return! Thanks Glynn and Happy New Year to you!
Sharon and Jim

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
5.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
538 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rydal Lodge Hotel
Rydal Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Rydal
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Property: West Vale Country House
Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing