We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #53 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed at West Vale in Mid March and had a lovely time! Dee & Glynn were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction to a lovely pub and even offered advise on where to visit during the day! Breakfast was lovely and we had lots to choose from!
Our room was lovely - couldn't of asked for a better place to stay!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    16
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
262
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked the West Vale Country House last minute and were delighted with the excellent standard of customer service and accommodation. Our room was beautifully decorated, very clean and had everything you could possibly need - even a complimentary carafe of sherry which was a nice touch! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmart87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay in the simply stunning west vale apartment. It's got all the home comforts you could need with amazing views. We received a very warm welcome and will definitely return again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at West Vale over the New Year period but had to return home one day early due to unforseen circumstances. Our stay had been excellent and the owners were very understanding and let us return for our extra night at a later date.
Glynn and Dee were charming and lovely people, the house was cetainly deserving of it's five star rating. It is very dfficult to maintain a successful business in this financial climate and some rules have to be made to protect all parties concerned. We understood that it was fair and reasonable that we completed our booking rather than demand a refund and it was a pleasure to do so in such lovely surroundings. If you want comfort and quality, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I strongly advise any person who is considering booking this accommodation to note that the owners are particularly ruthless when it comes to dealing with cancellation charges.

I made an almost last-minute booking but had to cancel within hours as one of the guests i was bringing was unable to attend for serious health reasons.

The owner then engaged a debt collection agency who have since attempted to employ a number of downright menacing and fraudulent tactics to recover 100% of the room charges.

At best they might have been justified in claiming some abortive costs but there would have been no justification for the costs of food. laundy. cleaning etc. As it is my original booking was a last-minute one anyway.

I am also complaining to the local tourist board and the booking agency who originally put me in touch and who assured me that here were no cancellation charges due.

I am also making a formal complaint against the debt recovery agency who have even had the temerity to threaten me ( fradulently) with bankruptcy proceedings rather than concede my right to contest the debt claim against their client in the county court

A very nasty experience

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plkiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestValeOwners, Owner at West Vale Country House, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
This was and is not about the money but the way a member of staff was treated in an appalling manner while trying to do her job. This is NOT acceptable. Had he let her finish speaking, she would have informed him that the monies would be taken but if he re-booked within 8 weeks there would be no charge.

1. Cancellation Policy clearly stated prior to booking and also on the confirmation letter. To say that we incurred no charges is irrelevant.

2. Agency contacted for the recovery of debt given the manner in which he informed the member of staff "You won't get a penny out of me" stating this in a arrogant and bombastic manner" Then abruptly ending the call leaving the member of staff visibly upset.

3. Serious illness never mentioned during the call in question. Reason given for cancellation, the other person had to work.

*Our track record when dealing with our guests when cancelling a booking is always honest and fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend decided to book for one night. We did it really last minute and booked through booking.com based on reviews we had read on tripadvisor. It was a pleasant drive until I followed the satnav and it took me through private land, nevertheless it was amusing.
We arrived at the West Vale, it was beautifully present and we were greeted by Glynn. Glynn was a wonderful host and shown us up to our room. He was more than helpful and advised us on the local pubs and eateries as we were peckish. We were in room 3 and it was very clean and well decorated with flatscreen tv/dvd player. The bathroom was spacious and the little extras of Molton Brown products were well appreciated, seen as we had forgotten most of ours. The canter of sherry went down extremely well with my boyfriend also.
Breakfast was great and Dee tended to our needs and made sure we were happy throughout.
On reflection we would return to the West Vale Country House without a doubt and would recommend it to family and friends in the future.
Thanks to Glynn and Dee.

Room Tip: I would perhaps upgrade if we were booking in advance and staying for longer than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahRS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent guesthouse located in a quiet yet convenient spot. Near to Hawkshead and within striking distance of Ambleside and Windermere with lots of local attractions as well as many country walks. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard and the cleanliness was excellent - we found many extra touches which you'd come to expect in a 4/5 star hotel rather than a guesthouse. Robes, slippers, Molton Brown toiletries and complimentary sherry as well as a huge and comfortable bed!

The hospitality was lovely and the breakfast was superb - although quiet when we visited in February when we were the only guests, we were still treated to the full breakfast spread. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We'd definitely recommend West Vale and would return.

Dinner at the Cuckoo Inn (less than 100m away) is a must as well.

Room Tip: Nice views from rooms 4 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.4 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
238 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rydal Lodge Hotel
Rydal Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Rydal
53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#44 of 103 in Ambleside
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
658 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Property: West Vale Country House
Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing