We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“James Reid and Victoria ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #31 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“James Reid and Victoria ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We found that everything about our stay was perfect from our meet and greet to our departure.
We stayed for 2 nights which we thoroughly enjoyed, the staff were brilliant, the food was amazing and the room was magnificent.
The staff took there time to direct us to pubs, towns and tourist destinations when ever we asked.
We will definately be staying at the west vale country house again.

Thank you

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
255
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We returned to west vale after 3years. It was still the same has our 1st visit .it was an amazing stay . Very clean cannot fault this country home at all .every time we go back to the Lake District we will not stay any were else. The owners are so friendly breakfast is amazing. Very good location and peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The room was modern, bright and comfortable with the feeling of luxury with all the added touches. Really tasty breakfast served by thoughtful hosts. We will defiantly be staying there again. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karolineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We returned to West Vale 20 years since we last stayed there (different owners then) as it was our 20 year wedding anniversary. We love the area with the rolling green hills and new born lambs outside the window and we loved our stay. Room 4 is a 'superior room' with a 4 post bed and luxury ensuite and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was top quality and really nicely cooked. Glynn & Dee were excellent hosts too. All in all an excellent stay - we hope to be back, perhaps we won't wait 20 years before we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Lodmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestValeOwners, Owner at West Vale Country House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and both Dee and I hope you don't leave it another 20 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I booked 2 nights at West Vale as part of a birthday surprise for my husband, and couldn't have picked anywhere better. The day before we travelled Glynn called to check our arrival time, and also offered us a room upgrade from superior to deluxe at a reduced rate, which we agreed to.
Both Glynn and Dee were terrific hosts, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room (5) was very spacious and comfortable, immaculately clean with everything we could need, including a decanter of sherry, bathrobes, slippers, a proper hairdryer (instead of the usual kind you find in hotels that are set up in the bathroom and deliver a feeble blast of cool air!), iron and ironing board. The view from the room was equally as lovely - we overlooked a field complete with sheep and lambs, with a forest and village church in the distance.

The hotel is set in a very small village, with one pub less than 2 minutes walk away, and another lass than 10 minutes walk in the other direction. While this might not be the place for anyone wanting more nightlife, as we wanted a quiet weekend it was ideal, and it made a nice change from where we live not to go to sleep or wake up to any traffic noise! Everywhere we wanted to visit was within easy driving distance, and there was ample parking at the hotel.

The breakfasts at the hotel were also excellent. We tried the full English and omelettes, and there was also a lot of choice at the buffet table, with fruit, cereals, yoghurts and a very nice lemon posset.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Lake District, and we hope to go back ourselves at some time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestValeOwners, Owner at West Vale Country House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It was our pleasure to help with your birthday surprise Many thanks for your kind comments about your room and breakfasts. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at West Vale and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Amazing, peaceful & tranquil destination in the heart of the Lake District, fantastic restaurants are only a walk away and the popular towns of Coniston, Ambelside & Windermere are a short drive and/or ferry ride away. The accomodation itself was imaculately presented and has earned its five stars and then some. The best touch of all is the kind and warm hearted team that run West Vale Country House, Glynn and Dee are wonderful hosts and made our weekend getaway complete. Great destination, great accomodation, great hosts ;)

Room Tip: You may spot a cute little rabbit in the car park, don't run him over ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from The West Vale country house and couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Dee and Glynn were the perfect hosts, so friendly and welcoming. Our room was so cosy and comfortable with fantastic views over the beautiful countryside, lovely to relax in after a long days out on the fells ( the decanter of sherry in the room was a lovely touch). The breakfasts are really nice with lots to choose from and everything so fresh. Can't wait to return and can certainly recommend The West Vale. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesnlindy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Near Sawrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
5.2 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Property: West Vale Country House
Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing