We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #61 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was booked by my husband as a surprise. It's not all it appears from the pictures. Nice B&b yes , hotel ? Definately not. Upon arrival we were a tad early but were sent away and told to " come back later " this immediately got my back up. If it was a hotel you would have been invited in to wait until your room was ready.
The room was adequate but not luxurious. Room 2 the bed is a cheap divan that gave me a bad back.
Breakfast on a weekend only served 8-9 in their own words " to suit themselves " not their guests. We actually got up are and went back to bed ! So not what you need if you're on a " relaxing " weekend away. We felt ill at ease.
There is no dinner or restaurant so don't expect one like we did. You will be disappointed as we were ...
Laundry sacks left strewn at the bottom of the stairs at 2 pm , still there at 11 when we returned.

Shame really. It's a lovely location. If only the owners took a little more care of their visitors it could be nice. For the same or similar price I would rather stay at the Laura Ashley hotel on Bowness and will do in future. This is certainly no hotel and as such not value for
money. It's a B&b that looks the part. Dig a little deeper and you will realise all is not as if seems

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonny1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestValeOwners, Owner at West Vale Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Sorry that Mrs H was disappointed, but to clarify some points.
1. We are NOT and have never a to be a Hotel. We are a B&B/ Guest House. This clearly stated on our Web Site and advertising material. Clearly the guest was misinformed.
2. As the guest has not given her name I cannot comment on her statement of a “tad early”. What I can say is that all rooms are ready for our check in time of 2pm. Anyone who does arrive a “tad early” e.g. 15 to 20 minutes is offered to wait in our lounge or any earlier the chance to leave their luggage take their key and continue with their day out.
3. All rooms are graded from Standard to Junior Suits. The guest chose a lower graded room.
4. If by “divan” the guest means the mattress, it is hotel contract quality, 1600 double stack pocket sprung system. In this instance two years old.
5. All guests are advised on the breakfast times on arrival and also in the room information folders. At no time would we have made the comment “to suit ourselves”. This is borne out by comments made both before and after this review.
6. As we are not a hotel we do not have a restaurant and again nothing on our brochures or web site gives any indication that we have.
7. Laundry sack. This was an oversight on our part and were mortified on discovering it, for which we apologise.
8. As to the guest getting a similar price at the Belsfield “HOTEL” in August. This is incorrect.
May we suggest that in this instance the guest made the mistake of choosing the wrong place to stay? Please read our Reviews before and after this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Another fantastic stay at West Vale. We visited for our first ever weekend away as a couple, got engaged here and now returned as newlyweds. As always fantastic service from Glynn and Dee, couldn't be made to feel more welcome and at home. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at West Vale Country House couldn't have been better! Well maybe slightly if we had drier weather but even that didn't matter. Our hosts were welcoming, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much effort and they were on hand to advise about the area, trips, restaurants. West Vale Country House is a lovely boutique guest house and we will be returning again and taking some friends with us. Great hosts, great location, great accommodation definitely a 5* stay. Thank you, we will be back. Patrick & Mary Jacobs

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a super stay at the West Vale Country House. The room we had was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Glyn and Dee couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfast served between 8-9 is really great with a massive choice of fresh fruit, cereals, and cooked breakfast etc. Local pubs provide good food and local beer.We would highly recommend this lovely B & B and will probably return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The reviews I had read in advance of our stay said it all and were not disappointed by the fantastic service and warm reception received thorough our stay. The breakfast and little touches made it clear to see why others have spoken so highly and even when events don't go as planned Glynn & Dee are always on call and go out of their way to help. Fantastic place and location which we both highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the West Vale country house. My fiancée had booked the junior suite for us stay in which was absolutely beautiful! Breakfast is served between 8-9 on morning which is also lovely and plenty of choice couldn't ask for anymore.
Glynn and his wife are lovely and very helpful, Glynn recommended shorter walks for us to do with me being 7months which was very helpful.
West Vale no longer serve evening meals but recommend the pubs close by to eat in and said we should book as they get busy which they did.
Fantastic food real ale country views perfect weekend and stay at West Vale Country House.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Stringfellow369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed last week. Fantastic experience. The hotel is owned and operated by a husband and wife team.

Hotel is immaculate and well maintained. Very clean. Great breakfast. Amazing location.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuart_jack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
5.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
348 reviews
6.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing