We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
bradford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value, good location”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Went here for lunch and had the drink and meal for £5.95, which for value you cant beat, I had a 7oz gammon and a pint of carling and it was very good, my friend had chicken and glass of wine and again for the price no complaints, you get what you pay for so don't expect it to be to special, its not. Nice place insde, only problem was waited at the bar for a bit then was told to get a table as drinks and food would be ordered at table, when we ordered we were given a reciept to get the drinks, so had to wait again, there must be a better way! other than service was ok, although I asked for some salad cream for my salad and got sour cream...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    78
    29
    7
    40
See reviews for
60
110
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Visited the Lion for a meal only. The service is poor, with staff insisting that you must order food from the table, even though you have to order and pay for drinks from the bar. On this occasion, the staff had to be prompted twice to take the order, even though the pub was quiet at the time.

You have to pay for your meal just before it arrives at the table, if you want to use plastic, you have to get up and go over to the bar. Why not just take orders from the bar?

The food arrived quickly, and was adequate, but of no higher standard than would be expected in, for example, a JD Wetherspoon outlet or a Yates's.

The reason this pub is popular is that it is the largest in Ambleside, so when the town is busy with tourists it is often the only eatery that has surplus space! Would reccomend it for a quick pitstop if you're hungry, but for something more special go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parklife93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have been staying at the White Lion for over 10 years and have never had a bad experience. Just had another great weekend and the rooms as always were spotless. Good food and the beer prices are reasonable for the lakes. Highly recommended! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydmoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Following the suggestion of a tour guide we went to this pub for lunch and with all due respect to the not so flattering reviews, enjoyed the food. Yes the service can be improved and can be more attentive but this is not a proper restaurant and does not pretend to be one. You have to get your drink from the bar as it does not get served at the table and may have to have to wait a while for somebody to come to your table to take your food order. But when the food came we found it to be quite testy. In fact considering its location, price and food quality I will have no hesitation in going back there.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel so only rating this for the food and bar service. This is a cheap option for those dining in Ambleside which can be overpriced.... havng said that you get what you pay for! This is OK for pub grub but you can pay a small amount more elsewhere for quality and far better service without doubt! The White Lion is OK for standard pub food at a reasonable price after a day in the Fells but if you are looking for something more special shop around .... pay a little bit more for far more quality and a better dining experience. Its OK and nothing more!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

i can see from older coments that the food at this hotel has had its problems inthe past
but let me put you up to date
called this friday the 13th may for lunch,we had 2 great meals served with a smile
the food was a absolute bargain in rip off lake district,so much so that we went back and
had a lovely steak with all the trimings,my wife had fish and chips,again purfect in size
and quality,and 2 glases of wine for a total of £13.98,WORTH EVERY PENNY.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

stayed on the off chance and so glad we did. rooms were lovely and clean and the price was one of the best in ambleside. had a lovely meal and breakfast set us up for the day ahead.would stay again no problem and other reviews did not match our experience!

Room Tip: drop in and see what is on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing