We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reasonably priced food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced food”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in or around Ambleside over August 2012 and called in for lunch.
All we were in need if was a good solid meal, after walking for a couple of hours during the morning.
We both had hearty English food, nothing special, just a decent pub meal.
One gripe I usually have is the time you wait for food to arrive after placing your order, not such a problem at the lion. We waited 10 minutes, max, which was great.
Clean plates from both of us and a bill which didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    77
    29
    7
    40
See reviews for
59
110
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel looks very inviting with a large terrace with tables at the front,inside is roomy with lots of comvy seeting areas.Unfortunately thats the best bit as the main reason my wife and i visited this hotel was for the food and what a disappointment that turned out to be.After been out walking on a buitiful warm sunny sunday afternoon and worked up an appitie we decided to call in for a sunday roast.There was 2 on the menue, beef and turkey, i chose the turkey but there was none left so we both ordered the beef.What a disaster! it was so rare it must have just come out of the fridge.the roast potatoes were so hard my knife would not go through it,the green beans were raw. we were so hungry we made a brave attept to eat something but had to give up. I can honestly say this is the worst sunday roast i have ever had.We ended up at Tesco Express across the road for a sandwich and mars bar.

Room Tip: Did not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack48775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Having had this place recommended by friends gave it a visit. We weren't disappointed, reasonable priced drinks, nice atmosphere ( plenty of locals in ) always a good sign.
The food menu was good value for money, no nonsense ordering at bar and prompt service.
Such a pleasant change from the other places nearby who seem to went top relieve you of your cash as quick as possible,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parahandy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

If you are in ambleside the White lion is super value . Staff are friendly efficient and the pub is a winner in all fields.Day or night it's a winner.It's in the centre of town and offers a nice relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Been visiting for 10 years always have one tea/ meal here.Love sitting outside in the sun shopping holiday stories.
However this place was very disappointing tonight staff very lazy, waitress more interested in chatting up boy at bar young blonde girl.
Food was the worst we have ever had in Ambleside cheap but awful,no one asked how the food was hubby left full meal then we went to Ghylside chippy for an amazing fish chips peas,hubby wanted to bring the fish in to show you how a fish should look.I persuaded him not too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel1234091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Always ask a local where the good food is and you normally can not go wrong. Or experience at this establishment was on the money. Not the greatest food I have had but it was good and worth the money. My wife and I ate here two nights on the trot while on holiday and would definately come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We did not stay in this hotel, we just ate in the pub. If you are looking for typical standard pub food at a fair price (such as Gammon & Chips, Steak Pie, Scampi etc) this pub will suffice. The decor is out of date as are allot of Lake District pubs and hotels to be honest, not been critical its just how I found things. Reading previous reviews I noted there were some very mixed reviews, however thought we would give it a try. We must have hit at the right time as we got parked right outside, and served some good standard pub food. I have no complaints, and would return on my experience of this pub.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda7Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,672 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing