We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people - will go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I have just come home after spending a couple of days in Ambleside at the White Lion Hotel. We just want to say a big thank you to the management and all staff for making our stay absolutely brilliant. Large comfortable bedroom with en suite and television, lovely bar and restaurant and a breakfast that was so large we had trouble finding room for it all - we had a fabulous time. Definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomlaw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Okay here we go its an old coaching inn so don't expect 5 star facilities but its clean, tidy and very friendly. All bedrooms are up some stairs but easily negated even with a stick.
We arrived with our friends so we occupied 2 rooms and both get the thumbs up, the management had even provided the best sunshine we've see for a long time in the North.
Dining in the Inn was also a pleasure with high quality bar food served by the ever helpful staff. This is not a fine dining restaurant it is a pub serving big well cooked portions, don't think for one moment it is anything else, just check the prices. We have paid far more for far less and quality does count, the food was quality. As for breakfasts, the full English will fill most large English men and women without a doubt, as well as any one else who like good bacon sausages, eggs, tomatoes s mushrooms and lovely bread.
Okay we go on but staff are great food is great drinks are great and they are supporting breast cancer so if you can get booked book, and if cant try to book another date. Eat good food and enjoy the company.
All the negative comments or the use of the word acceptable do mislead, go and sit in the sun, drink your favourite drinks and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 4 or 7 we thought they were great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynpaulNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Went to The White Lion on Saturday early evening for just 'pub grub'.
The atmosphere and staff were great but the food for all but one(who had gammon and eggs) was I have to say the worst pub food we've ever had.We would never eat there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Diane,Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Really busy evening - Bank holiday - and the pub doesn't take bookings. However, we got a table and ordered from the quite extensive and varied menu. If you choose your moment, queuing at the bar isn't too much of a problem. We enjoyed a well presented and tasty meal at a reasonable price. Service was satisfactory, especially given the number of people in there, and everyone was pleasant. Nothing flashy, but quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Can't say much more than average. Typical pub food (reheated baked potatoes) not a gastro pub. The staff are pleasant but the pub needs a jolly good clean and update.You get what you pay for. Ember inns do have gastro pubs this one could do with being made into one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanitacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Food straight from the freezer to the microwave or deep fat fryer. Cheap nasty food. Haddock was grey, nachos had the cheese waved at them, saving grace was the gammon steak with eggs which was nice. Queue up to buy drinks,, queue up to order food. Do not encourage this rotten style of food and service dont go.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank scottishfoodlover013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The location is good right in the centre of Ambleside, We had to wait al least 5 minutes to be served at the bar which was a little bit of a let down. The pub was seriously under staffed for the amount of people sitting in. The food was ok nothing special just a generic menu like expected in most pubs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £84 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing