We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Dundee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Was not actually staying here but went in for a meal. My partner ordered a curry which i can only describe as boil in the bag rubbish.
I got fish and chips and have to say it was the worst fish i've ever tasted.
Obviously came out of a box and was heated up. Avoid.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrdekyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    72
    27
    7
    40
See reviews for
53
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

My partner booked the White Lion and after reading the reviews i was a bit warey to say the least , but hey-ho off we went . Location great in the centre of Ambleside with freee parking , staff friendly,room was a decent size not modern a bit dated but very clean .., so far so good so off we went to the bar for a drink and the food looked ok so we ordered fish & chips , nice large portion and the fish was fresh , we got talking to a local couple and we mentioned the reviews esp about the food but they said the new chef dean was very good and they often ate there .. so we will be returning with friends later in the year ..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

For 20 years the White lion has consistently deliverd good pub food but something has changed and a new "microwave" menue has been launched. The quality is truley dreadfull and no better that you would expect to find at the bottom of a freezer in a cheap frozen food shop. The prices are also too high for the quality

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul33Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Alnwick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Nice ambience right in the centre of Ambleside with friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tower2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing