We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, welcoming, warm and fun.”

Glenside Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed at Glenside for a week in August and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Ideally located, just a 10 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside which has a wide range of restaurants and bistro's. We would definitely recommend Dodds, the Italian restaurant and an absolute must is the Thai called Doi Intanon.
Gledside is delightful. We stayed in the Blue Room but had a nosey in all the rooms and they are all lovely and of a very high standard with personal touches that make all the difference.
Paula's breakfasts more than lived up to expectation and she is a wonderful host, always cheerful and more than happy to offer advice on walks, places to visit, and eat, etc. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritzy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Glenside Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

This was a return visit for us to this lovely B&B,as we had visited Paula here last year.
The personal touches she makes,and nothing is too much trouble to make you feel very welcome. As for her breakfasts well they literally are an ALL DAY BREAKFAST.
Looking forward to returning to Glenside again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robjonlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My wife and I have just got back from a three night 'first ever' stay at Glenside. We went with our friends who like us have never previously been to the lakes. This was our first experiance of what people describe as a "Lovely" little Gem and I can 100% agree with each and every one of them. The rooms are wonderful, fantastic comfy beds with crisp white linen, everything is spotlessly clean (and I mean spotless!!!!). The whole place has a real old English cottage feel about it, all made that bit more authentic by the the warm and welcoming service provided by its owner Paula. She is the real heart of the place and makes you feel like a family member from the minute you walk in the door. Not only did she recommend some very managable walks for 4 very non walky people but she also guided us to the best Pub, Steakhouse, Italian and Thia eateries in town. Her breakfast is legendary - set in the most lovely cottage breakfast room and each plate is heaped up with a bounty of the most delicious local produce. The experiance had completely opened my eyes to B&B/Guest House accomodation and i'm not sure I can bring myself to pay the disproportionate rip off prices of staying in pompus, stuffy, faceless hotels ever again. Well done Paula and team and thank you for making our weekend so very memorable... Ian, Janet, Ralf & Donna xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C4YNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We chose this B & B because of all the previous excellent reports about Glenside. All the reviewers are 100% accurate. It is truly a gem of a house. It is very quaint with lots of lovely bits and bobs to look at. Paula the hostess with the mostest is terrific!......she is very friendly, and does a fab breakfast. She advised us on where to go, places to eat and gave us books etc to take with us. We would highly recommend Glenside, and we'll hopefully be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I have visited Glenside 40 times now. I guess this says it all. It is an absolute perfect gem of a B and B and a real haven from the stresses of the outside world. There are 3 super rooms with 1 room also having a single room separate. I have stayed in all the rooms and love them all. They are all well-equiped with champagne fridges!!!, trinkets and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The pinnacle of the good things I can say about this B and B is the hostess, Paula. She is naturally the best hostess I have ever met. She manages this beautiful haven with pride and you can see that she just wants all her guests to have a good time - nothing is too much trouble for her. Her breakfasts are cooked fresh each morning and absolutely yummy. I love my visits to this B and B - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CozCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Excellent host (Paula), beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfasts, free parking, charming website, close to the amenities of Ambleside - in fact the bestest B & B in the world! So good in fact we've been visiting for the past eight years. Wherever we stay we compare to Glenside and Paula has yet to be surpassed! High commended - Thank you Paula!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlipaliNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The house is lovely. Just off the main road so a very short walk to town but in a quiet location. Also near the lake. The hostess with the mostess is Paula. She is lovely, helpful and a wonderful supplier of superior breakfasts!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank NewboyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenside Bed & Breakfast

Address: Glenside Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Glenside Bed & Breakfast Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing