We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill
Ranked #9 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant is in a converted mill which still has some of the machinery as part of the décor.
Good location in the centre of town, set on three levels with a section outside.
Nice menu, excellent customer service from the very friendly and efficient staff and above all excellent value for money compared to some of their competitors in the town.
The lamb was exquisite and overall, if we had stayed in Ambleside a bit longer, I am sure we would have gone back again. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Ambleside who likes good food in quirky surroundings - Excellent!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank djkelly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    196
    44
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Top Floor Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

During our recent stay in Ambleside we had an evening meal at The Fulling Mill and were highly delighted with the occasion. We both choose the "Special" Sea Bass Shredded vegetables which proved to be absolutely superb, and based on this would certainly make our way to The Fulling Mill again. The waiter and waitresses could not have been any more helpful and made our evening certainly a memorable one. The only slightly negative point was that I believe you are unable to reserve a table in advance, which on this occasion did not bother us since there were ample tables available when we arrived. The only other slight point against is that the restaurant part we were in was up a couple of flights of steps though here again this was no problem for us. So I would give them 9 out of 10,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tetrakis-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Popped in after a walk about Ambleside before going back to Grasmere where we were staying. Lovely little place very near the main car park so very handy. Lovely staff who were very polite & attentive. Had the soup of the day which was very nice though I wasn't expecting a mini piece of toast with cheese on floating in the middle of pot & leek soup, good job I like cheese? Reasonable prices too which is a big bonus in a place that's obviously designed for tourists. All in all a Nice place to visit..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyLeith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delicious food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch because the smell was so lovely coming from it as we went past. We had a delicious lunch- the cherizo and prawn. We spoke to the staff and they recommended lovely places for us to visit and drives in the area. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It is OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

That is what all that can be said about it. Food is ok, service is ok. Nothing to get you bouncing! I need to write more characters for trip advisor but have nothing more to say.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TouringTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fulling Mill also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Fulling Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing