We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic meal for two”
Review of The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Central European, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Romantic meal for two”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We didn't need to book which was the first surprise. A quirky and beautiful building with a host of original features retained. Excellent service from very smart and happy staff and beautifully presented and delicious food with a lovely atmosphere. A varied and interesting choice from the menu and reasonably priced too. Definitely a place we will re visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FishermanJim0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    210
    50
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quick drink in the sun”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely location. Friendly service.
We stopped for a refreshing beer after a walk and thought it was nice how well dogs were catered for.
Theit lunch menu wasn't all that inspiring so we looked elsewhere for food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evertheoptomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We walked past this restaurant in the day and went back in the evening. We had breads and oils with pork scratching and apple sauce for starters there were nice. As a main I had sea bass with colourful veg and a mango sauce different and tasty. My partner had lamb rump which they enjoyed also. The staff were friendly and service was good

Helpful?
Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food & good music”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent and staff were friendly. Good choice on menu and reasonable value. I do not normally like music to played in the background but I have to say it was good and was my taste, like the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant eatery”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Limited lunch menu,but nice outside eating area.we had the soup with White and brown bread, did the job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 350neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fulling Mill also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Fulling Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing